Skip to content

Psalm 71/91

February 8, 2009

I love the Psalms. Definitely my favorite book of the Bible. The one I turn to the most. One of my new favorite verses in the Psalms, and one I know I have put on here before, is Psalm 71:3. “Be thou my strong habitation, whereunto I may continually resort: for thou hast given commandment to save me; for thou art my rock and my fortress.” I love the first part of the verse. Over the past few years I have realized more and more how much I really really need God in my life, not just a quick devotion in the morning, but throughout the day in everything that I do! To continually resort to God who is my strong habitation.  Continually. Psalm 91 refers to dwelling  in the secret place of the most High and abiding under the shadow of the Almighty. He says that if we dwell in the secret place, we will abide under the shadow of the Almighty. That fortress of protection. I love that promise!  Verse 9 of Psalm 91 also refers to making the Lord our habitation. Our refuge. If we are already close to the refuge, seeking strength for the day, when hard times come, we are already there. Already under that protection. We don’t have to run through the storm to seek protection. We are already sheltered!! Wow. God is so good! And of course we will fall. We will leave that sheltered place, even though we know that life is best there. Because we are dumb. Really. Why else would we try to live on our own? But thankfully God is merciful and always quick to draw us back to Him. Thank God for His mercy and for wanting a relationship with people like us!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    February 9, 2009 9:47 am

    I love Psalms too. I fell in love with Psalm 27 when I did a paper on it.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    February 9, 2009 12:07 pm

    For grad school? What was that class that we did all that work in Psalms for, Hermeneutics? (Finding all the types of poetry?) It’s all fuzzy in my mind… 🙂

  3. Jane permalink
    February 9, 2009 1:19 pm

    Thanks for posting that Jen! It’s an encouragement and challenge!!!

Leave a Reply

