Skip to content

Book/travel review

February 7, 2009

For whatever reason I have never been a big Robin Jones Gunn fan. But the other day during a mad dash to the library in dire need of some good reading material, nothing was jumping out at me, so I grabbed a Sisterchicks book, knowing that at least it would be clean. The title was “Sisterchicks go Brit” so I thought it might be interesting to see her take on Britain.

book

I haven’t been disappointed. Every reference to something British has me smiling and remembering when I experienced what she is writing about. Being served a boiled tomato and baked beans for breakfast…being awestruck at the vastness and sheer grandiosity of Harrods (this should be the mecca of shoppers everywhere)…being completely caught off guard the first time you see a British television commercial… The book has been a great trip down memory lane. I think everyone should see Great Britain, at least England. It will be worth every pound! You will not be disappointed! Fans of British literature will enjoy seeing where their favorite authors lived, taught, wrote and got their inspiration. It’s no wonder one of Britain’s lasting legacies is its authors and literature. I think if we all had the kind of scenery they have in their own backyard we too would be amazing authors!

Britain is teeming with history. It’s everywhere! To see the Magna Carta, early handwritten copies of the King James Bible, Plymouth (where the Pilgrims set sail from), Stonehenge as well as medieval cities such as York, portions of Hadrian’s wall that are still standing, the elegant city of Bath with its Roman relics (and where Jane Austen lived and wrote for part of her life), Shakespeare’s birthplace as well as Robert Louis Stevenson’s house, the gorgeous Lake District where Wordsworth lived and got his inspiration, as well as where Beatrix Potter lived. Not to mention all the palaces, castles and churches…the list could go on and on. England is fascinating. Even its McDonalds’ are impressive! (Of course when you are paying around 14.00 USD for a hamburger meal, I guess it should be) I was not prepared for glass vases with fresh cut flowers at each table, mirrored walls and music from a baby grand. The British make everything a delightful experience. Well, they do have a slight smoking problem. It seems that everyone smokes.  (On our return flight home, we tried to tell the young teen next to us that smoking was definitely not cool in CA – he had brought a whole carton of cigarettes in his luggage. But he told us, in his delightful British accent, that he was still going to smoke, lol.) Whenyou walk down the streets in London, you walk through clouds of smoke.  But aside from that….

Go to England, then read the book! I promise it’s worth it!

Stonehenge

Stonehenge

York Minster Abbey

York Minster Abbey

Shakespeare's birthplace

Shakespeare’s birthplace in Stratford-Upon-Avon

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 4:17 pm

    Cool pics! I have seen these books but have not had a chance to read them! 🙂

  2. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 8, 2009 8:56 pm

    GB has a lot of history to it, but it’s not really known for its food. Is it as bad as reputed to be (other than the fish and chips)?

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    February 9, 2009 8:00 am

    Definitely loved the fish and chips! Other than that I kinda stayed away from “traditional” British food if I could (Blood pudding? It even smelled bad! Sometimes the smell at breakfast was so bad I had to leave the room, I thought I would throw up! But that doesn’t make for a very good review…). I did like the meat pasties (like an empanada). I tried pizza at lots of different places and while it was different, it was very good. :)Sometimes you would think you knew what to expect, and then what you got would be totally different. I ordered a BLT in a little sandwhich shop and it came with butter on it. The “bacon” was like thick slices of ham. The salads came with mayonnaise on them instead of dressing! So it was always interesting. Scones with clotted cream are awesome though!
    But other than that we did eat lots of American food like Subway and McDonalds – sometimes just to save money! Food was very expensive (we were happy to pay $14-15 for a McDonalds meal!!), and yeah, it isn’t usually even the greatest. I think that’s why they all decided to become writers. They knew they would never make it as chefs!!

  4. Becka permalink
    February 9, 2009 9:31 am

    lol I enjoyed this post. I actually really like Robin Jones Gunn books, but haven’t yet read the Sisterchicks. Since I have no plans to visit England any time soon, maybe I’ll just have to settle for reading about it. 🙂 After the McDonald’s and BLT (real BLT’s) talk, I am feeling a little hungry! 🙂

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    February 9, 2009 12:29 pm

    I think I will read the other books in the series now. I know some of the others are Paris and Venice. Super exciting! 🙂
    Anyways, you definitely have to visit England one day Beck!! If I’m ever rich and famous I will give you a trip to England. 🙂 Well, I doubt I will ever be rich if I keep spending my money on traveling but still… :)It’s the thought that counts, right? Actually, I have a fabulous idea! I will come visit you again next year, we can drive to Boston, visit Jackie, and then take a cruise that leaves from Boston! Cruises are pretty cheap! 🙂 Sound like a plan? 🙂

  6. Becka permalink
    February 10, 2009 3:49 pm

    lol I don’t know…..lol Maybe if you are ever rich and famous. Maybe the drive to Boston and visit Jackie part is feasible though! :)lol

Leave a Reply

