Skip to content

Alternate Avenues

January 31, 2009

Wow, what a day. I wish everyone had the chance to see the presentation that I saw today. It was really powerful! A lot of the information wasn’t new to me, but to hear the stories and see the videos was really moving. To watch the heartache of women who have had their babies aborted and then regretted that decision every day of their lives. To hear the guilt that both men and women have carried for many many years is heartbreaking!  And I did learn a lot of new information as well. For those of you who aren’t familiar with it (I wasn’t, until recently), Alternate Avenues is a women’s crisis pregnancy resource and medical center. They offer many free resources to men and women dealing with a “crisis” pregnancy, including ultrasounds and medical resources, counseling and mentoring, post abortion recovery programs for women who have had abortions (and they are located right next to an abortion clinic so they get many clients that way!), Bible studies and afterbirth programs, as well as giving the new mothers baby showers and providing them with food, baby supplies, and programs similar to our Reformers Unanimous at church to help the women grow in their new lives in Christ. They also provide abstinence training for schools and youth groups. (They have been able to get into a few public schools as well! Public school children have been seriously misled in this area and I think it’s great they are able to get into the schools and present them with honest facts!)

Anyways, today was one of two trainings that I have to go through in order to volunteer. I am going to miss next week’s training since I have to work, and I am really sad because that’s when they are going to train the volunteers in their counseling program. I am so curious to see how they do it!! I am so so excited to finally be able to get involved!

I have already sent this link to some of you in the past few days, but thought this was a great place to post the link for anyone who is interested (and I hope you all are). Just a few days ago, Obama overturned the Mexico City Policy, and is also getting ready to hand Planned Parenthood billions in bailout money. Please check out this link, scroll to the bottom and click on the legislative action alerts. You can send an email to your representatives to let them know your position on the issues (it’s very easy and only takes a minute)!  I want to do my part!

A few quick facts I jotted down today (there are so many more facts like this, it’s sad):

  • Over 48  million babies aborted since Roe v. Wade in 1973 (more than all of our war casualties combined, by far! And yet we are worried about the lives lost in the Iraq war. Yes, that’s bad, but maybe we should be just as concerned with the ones we are murdering ourselves! Those innocent babies’ greatest threat isn’t  a foreign war, it’s their own country)
  • The suicide rate is 3-6 xs higher in women who have had an abortion
  • Bush was the first president to ban partial birth abortion
  • Abortion clinics will not let their patients see their ultrasounds, even if the patient asks to see it
  • Alternate Avenues saved 120 babies last year. That is such a small number compared to the millions killed each year, but thank goodness for the ones they were able to save! And for those mothers’ lives who were changed!
  • 1 in 1200 Palestinians are in danger of dying because of the war, 1 in 4 babies conceived in the US will be aborted.
  • 1 800 395-HELP  – if you know someone who is considering an abortion or who needs help

If you want to help, there’s always room for more!

Psalm 139:14 “I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jaynepomuceno permalink
    February 3, 2009 11:03 pm

    Woah, shocking stats! 25% of conceptions will be aborted?? Incredible.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    February 4, 2009 12:14 pm

    Yeah, it’s pretty messed up. People will get all upset about a mother who leaves her baby in the car, but that same mother could have aborted her baby and no one would have cared. Sad.

  3. Traci permalink
    February 4, 2009 8:11 pm

    Imagine if those 48 million children had grown up to be productive, tax-paying citizens. Would Social Security be in the mess it’s in? Would we have a shortage of health care workers to care for the aging Baby Boomer generation?
    There are many socio-economic effects I think are attributable to abortion. I really want to do some research on the topic someday, but my four children and my Ph.D. candidate husband occupy most of my time that is not already occupied by work!
    I hope you do get to volunteer and put your degree to work!
    Thanks for the post!

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    February 5, 2009 12:08 pm

    Yeah…I remember reading a poem or something once that was supposed to be God talking and it said something to the effect of “you wonder why I haven’t cured cancer, why I haven’t…. (etc etc, I can’t remember all the things)..I sent you babies who would grow up to be doctors who would find the cure for cancer, etc. etc. and you killed them.” I wish I could remember/find that poem because it’s really good.
    If you ever do research I definitely want to see it!!
    I start volunteering next Wed!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

