Skip to content

God is so good!

January 12, 2009

God is so, so good to us! Right now I am kind of  in awe of how good He is. Nothing spectacular has happened, I have just been thinking lately about how good He is to me. He has blessed me so much more than I will ever deserve! When I think about my life and all the happy memories, the awesome experiences He has allowed me to have, the amazing friends He has given me, the wonderful, crazy family He has blessed me with, the way He has been there for me, drawing me close to Him through circumstances that I didn’t understand, patiently giving me second chances over and over again, I am truly grateful and humbled! God is good no matter what, through good and bad circumstances, and even though they can at times feel like they will rip you apart, I am thankful for all the difficult times that He used to draw me closer to Him and to show me that He can do ANYTHING and that He is in control no matter what! ! I am so thankful that I don’t have to go through life on my own! God is so, so good to us! Over and over again the Psalms tell us to praise the name of the Lord, and truly He is worthy of all our praise! At times like these, when everything seems to be going smoothly and there is a calm in the storm, it can be tempting to bask in the sunshine and peace that is found, and yet I am reminded that it is through the storms of life that we grow closer to the Lord. Can I truly say that I welcome the storms of life, because I know that they will work for my good and strengthen my Christian walk and can bring God glory? It is a question that I often ask myself. I pray for God to do whatever He wants to in my life to bring Him glory, and then I take it back and tell Him that  maybe I just want to enjoy the happiness and peace a little longer, because I don’t really like storms. I tell Him that maybe I am not really ready to go through something again that threatens to capsize my little boat.  Maybe I am not strong enough. And then I feel convicted that I don’t trust Him enough to provide for me and take care of me in any situation. I am not strong enough on my own, but He gives enough grace as it is needed!  Can I truly say “bring me anything that brings you glory?” That is our purpose here on this earth and to want anything less from life is to settle for second best! I only pray that I always have the faith to turn to God when the road gets rough, for I know that He is enough to get us through anything!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Antonia permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:35 pm

    Amen!

  2. January 13, 2009 12:48 pm

    Great post! Very uplifting and a good reminder for us all. 🙂

  3. nurseseekingamission permalink
    January 13, 2009 9:56 pm

    Jen this is great, it is so true. I think about how Good God has been over the last several years, but yet I often fail to praise Him for it. Great thoughts.

Leave a Reply

