Skip to content

What makes you smile?

January 9, 2009

Ha ha, we had another earthquake last night. Seems like we are having them more frequently now… It was funny because my brother had just gotten up to preach in the youth group when the earthquake hit. He said it was the Holy Spirit filling the room… πŸ™‚ Anyways, that wasn’t the only thing interesting in yg last night, but I guess I can’t write about it on here…I was told (by one certain brother) that it might be “too wild” for me and that I might want to go in “big church.” (He just didn’t want me telling Jay…) Ha ha, I wonder how many junior highers will show up in their pajamas next Thurs…lol…

Anyways, so lately I have been thinking about those little things in life that just make me smile. (not like someone handing you a check, just “little” things or unexpected things)Β  Whenever I drive down White Avenue to go to church, seeing all the trees with their leaves changing colors just makes me smile. (Okay, now the leaves are gone, but for a few weeks it was beautiful!)

Snow covered mountains

Sun rays shining through the clouds (the sky is so amazing!)

A colorful sunset

A favorite song

A clear day with puffy white clouds in the sky

The sound of church bells (carillon)

A smog-free view of LA from the 57

Puppies

Random things like all the sticky notes someone placed along the hallway at work. Everywhere there is a burned out light bulb, someone put a sticky note that says “light out.” It made me smile because it was just so obvious, like you really needed the sticky note…

Okay, those are just a few of them…

What little things make you smile when you see them? (Then we can smile and think of you when we see them too) πŸ™‚

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    January 9, 2009 4:14 pm

    Your list did make me smile! I loved the favorite song, mountains, etc. πŸ™‚ Just a few of my own to add for now. πŸ™‚

    1. A clear, star filled sky.
    2. Sunny, warm days
    3. Any time that I am done with work for the day.
    4. Going out to eat or Matt making dinner – both of which mean that I don’t have to make dinner or lunch that time.
    5. Matt, Martha (my coworker), my sister
    6. Clean sheets πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Double smile for that one!

  2. rnaenae permalink
    January 9, 2009 4:20 pm

    seeing the mountains while driving up the 57!
    talking with my family!
    listening to music
    looking at pics
    little kids talking to their parents
    James, Melissa, Rebekah, Ruth

  3. Becka permalink
    January 9, 2009 5:36 pm

    she just mentioned me because I mentioned her. What she doesn’t know is that she makes me smile because I sometimes laugh when I think about her. mwahahaha. lol πŸ™‚

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    January 10, 2009 11:54 am

    ha ha lol… that evil laugh doesn’t sound like you, Beck… πŸ™‚

    I want to add Mango Ice cream to that list now…Dreyers has it as a limited special and it’s yummy! Reminds me of Hawaii! And it’s definitely making me smile! πŸ™‚
    And yes, old school pics are making me smile too! πŸ™‚

  5. rnaenae permalink
    January 10, 2009 12:00 pm

    Rebekah really does make me smile! also Pineapple Floats! they are so good Pineapple ice cream with Pineapple juice! yum!
    Jay’s old pics of youth group!

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    January 10, 2009 4:09 pm

    lol you guys, people are not “little” things that make you smile. Well, even if the people are little, they still count as “big” things that make you smile. (I hope) πŸ™‚

  7. Becka permalink
    January 12, 2009 10:03 am

    mmmmm Mango ice cream sounds good. Old pics make me smile too.

  8. jenmarie permalink*
    January 14, 2009 12:27 pm

    Beck, it’s awesome! It’s my new fav…although if you eat too much of it, you kinda get sick of it. πŸ™‚ Not that I would know… πŸ˜‰
    You should try it!!

Leave a Reply

