Skip to content

If you see pink carnations falling off this float, it’s NOT our fault!!) :)

December 29, 2008

Today was SO much fun! A bunch of friends and I went to Azusa today to decorate floats for the Rose Parade and had a blast! None of us had ever done it before, so we weren’t sure what to expect. I was totally hoping that it was fun because I had invited all these people, and it was great so that was awesome! I am uploading the pics right now. We worked on the Jack in the Box float (well, half of us worked on that one, the other half worked on the China Airlines float (or something like that) ) Anyways, it was such a great experience! I loved getting to see all the flowers and decorations up close. It was also great to be climbing all over the floats, although the scaffolding scared me (I didn’t know I was afraid of heights like that!), I didn’t like having to climb on narrow boards to get to where I needed to be! The security guy (whatever he was exactly, I am not sure) who was up there with us kept laughing at me, but there was no way I was walking on those narrow boards, so I crawled on them!

Okay, anyways, then we went to lunch and then to the beach. Now I’m sleepy….it’s another early day tomorrow so I better run. Pics will be up soon!

Pics are up, captions added later! 🙂 I put a few pics here, but there are some really great ones in the gallery! Esp of the girls chasing birds on the beach, and trying to sneak up on the pelican….More of the floats too.

 http://picasaweb.google.com/jennifermariedunlop/FloatDecorating08?authkey=g_5u2agCaVY#

float-decorating-and-beach-08-078

I don’t know which float this one was (Huntington Beach)

float-decorating-and-beach-08-088

The warehouse was FULL of beautiful flowers!

float-decorating-and-beach-08-093

SJ and Melinda on the Chinese float

float-decorating-and-beach-08-099

We were so sick of red carnations after this! (we had to chop the stems off of all of them) It was fun though!

float-decorating-and-beach-08-104

Meg and Jill pose on top of the Jack in the Box float

santa-moniafloat-decorating-trip-08-026

santa-moniafloat-decorating-trip-08-043

The end of the day…Santa Monica

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2008 9:11 am

    SOunds so fun! I think my kids might be too young (they are 10 and 11)- they probably have age requirements or something if you have to go on scaffolding- but we would love to do this one year. How did you find out about where to go, etc.?

  2. Becka permalink
    December 30, 2008 9:34 am

    I wish I could have joined you! 🙂 Looks like you had a ton of fun! 🙂 I’ll for sure have to watch the parade now! 🙂

  3. mysunshine20 permalink
    December 30, 2008 4:09 pm

    Looks like you had alot of fun! Wish I could be there! Plus im sure with your magic touch everything looked great :O)

  4. December 30, 2008 8:13 pm

    What a fun and neat experience! The Chinese Embassy float looks especially pretty. 🙂

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    December 31, 2008 11:56 am

    Hi Lisa,
    I just googled it since a coworker told me about it. I guess there are several places that you can go, but the one we went to was on Aspen in Azusa. (take Baseline west from the 210 till it turns into First street and Aspen is on the right, across from the park)
    http://www.tournamentofroses.com/events/floatdecorating.asp

    They didn’t tell us an age requirement, so I am not sure. But you can always just go check it out. It was a great experience and a lot of fun! You have to put in a minimum of 4 hours at one time, and have to bring scissors (at least the place we went to told us that). They do it every year starting on Dec 26th I believe, although I think going closer to the Parade date is better because then you can actually do fun decorating! 🙂 Hope it works for you!

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    December 31, 2008 12:03 pm

    So, to explain about the whole “carnations falling off” thing… We had been cutting the stems off of the red carnations for a long time, and were wanting to finally get to “real” decorating, so we went and asked the lady if we could switch. She let us go up and we had to poke holes in the canvas and put the pink carnations into the holes and kinda glue them. (They actually already had glue on them, but we added more since it was drying). It was really hard to get the stems to go through though since it was just the really fat part left at the base of the flower and it wasn’t fitting. So we were like “oh well, it’s the roof anyways, no one will really see it.” So we were just doing the best we could, although the flowers weren’t going in all the way. Then at the end when we all came down and were talking to the float manager as we were getting ready to leave, she was like “you guys were doing the front of the float, that piece will swing up and be the front!” We all looked at each other with this really sinking feeling in our stomaches! We were like “oh great, they will probably all fall out once they swing that piece up!” So we are keeping our fingers crossed! 🙂

  7. rnaenae permalink
    January 1, 2009 10:08 pm

    Well I didn’t see any flowers fall off! It looks like you had a great time!

Leave a Reply

