Skip to content

Snowboarding

December 27, 2008

Yesterday afternoon Tom and I met David and Angel at Angel’s house and drove up to Mountain High to go snowboarding. Since David was teaching Tom, Angel and I, his coworker took his girlfriend too (she had never been either) and we met them up there. It was pretty cold (well, 20s…) but after we got going we warmed up and it wasn’t bad. I had so much fun! I am certainly not good at it, and we stayed on the bunny slope the whole time :), but it was a lot of fun and by the last run down the hill I was actually able to stay up and steer the whole way down! ๐Ÿ™‚ The little “lift/moving sidewalk” thing wasn’t working, so we had to walk back up each time, which definitely added to the workout and I think tired us outย a little more quickly. By the last run, my legs were burning, but it was great! I wished I could do a few more runs (it was almost 10 though and they were closing) because I was just getting better… I definitely want to go again!! (If for no other reason to at least justify all the money spent on clothes and such!!) My only problem (well, the most pressing one) is that I cannot for the life of me get back up when I fall! Well, if I can roll over then I can get up backwards, but that’s not the best position to be in! I had to have Tommy or David pull me up each time. It probably didn’t help that because I had so many layers on I was quite fat and couldn’t bend very well! ๐Ÿ™‚ Before I got decent at stopping, I would just fall backwards to stop (and I think I have bruises to prove it!) but then I couldn’t get back up again! BUT, it is definitely easier than learning to surf, so I think I might switch…sorry Tonia, but I will still visit. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways, here are some of the awesome pics I promised. ๐Ÿ˜‰

snowboarding-08-004

snowboarding-08-006

snowboarding-08-010

snowboarding-08-012

snowboarding-08-014

snowboarding-08-017

snowboarding-08-020

snowboarding-08-023

snowboarding-08-026

snowboarding-08-028

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2008 5:03 pm

    Sounds like a fun time! We are getting temps in the 40s here, so lots of fog and melting snow. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. December 27, 2008 8:23 pm

    Sounds and looks like you had fun!

  3. Becka permalink
    December 29, 2008 9:32 am

    How fun!!! I loved the pics! Matt keeps wanting us to go skiing, but it is expensive and we haven’t had time yet. Maybe next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Antonia permalink
    December 30, 2008 8:37 am

    Wow how fun! Bobby and I were talking to this guy at a surf/skate shop up here and he said alot of people up here snowboard. We asked where and he said Mountain High. We both started laughing – since it is such a drive even from down there – we thought he was going to tell us of a place up here.

Leave a Reply

