Skip to content

FLS

December 11, 2008

There is no way I could possibly put into words all of the interesting moments that we have had at the house lately. If we are all together, we are always laughing because there is always something funny going on! Tuesday night at about 8:45 someone suddenly remembered that we had forgotten to do something for Yuta’s birthday (it was Tues) so we frantically tried to think of what we could do really fast. My mom spoke in Spanish to the two Brazilians (although I think she could have spoken plain English and it would have gone way over Yuta’s head) and got them to take Yuta to the back house to play pool while I quickly baked a cake and Tom ran to the store to get ice cream. (We didn’t eat all that till like after 9:30!) My mom wanted to light all 17 candles for him, so she had to cut a huge piece of cake to fit all the candles on it (we didn’t want him blowing all over the whole cake) Then we sang and tried to explain American traditions. 🙂 When we asked him how they celebrate birthdays in Japan, he sat there thinking for a while (my dad said we were getting a “Thinker” impersonation which made me laugh, because that’s totally what he looks like when he stops to think). We never did get an answer to that question(we usually don’t). After Yuta finished his cake and ice cream, my dad asked if he liked it (I don’t know why we even bother, he has no idea what we are saying) and he said “no” and laughed and waved his hand in front of him. My dad thought that was so funny and had to tell me that he didn’t like my cake. (I think he thought we were asking if he wanted more though, because that’s what he always does when he doesn’t want more – although he probably didn’t like it either. 🙂 He did eat more ice cream last night so I know he likes that. Probably ice cream is like a universal language, you really can’t not like it)

Before the whole cake thing, we had all been decorating the house and my mom told the Brazil guys that they could help us put up the outside lights the next night. Then we realized it might be dark when they got home. One of them suggested that we could use a torch. Which of course brought comments from the fam “yeah, let’s just torch the whole thing.” We had to explain to him why we were laughing, and that we call them “flashlights.”

The other day when Steven asked Marcius something about marriage and Brazil, he said that a lot of the people in Brazil just live together. Then he asked Steven if we had a phrase for that, so Steven called into the kitchen and asked me. I was thinking, “yeah, sin.” But I teasingly said “shacking up.” Marcius overheard me and then Steven had to try and explain what a “shack” was and why we call it that. Sometimes it is hard to explain why we call certain things the things we do. Idioms are always fun to try and explain. I think after the whole FLS thing, I could get some sort of TESOL job. 🙂

A few days after the two guys from Brazil got here, we were sitting at dinner and Marcius said to Steven “I have been trying to figure out who you look like, and I remember now, Justin Timberlake.” We were all laughing, and then he said, “In Brazil, I have many problems.” Then he kinda started laughing and so we were all laughing (it was just Steven , Tom and I) and I was thinking ‘oh great, what kind of problems?’ Then he said “because everyone thinks I am Brad Pitt.” We really started laughing then! (He was laughing too) It was so funny, especially because he doesn’t look like Brad Pitt!

The other night at dinner, I really wanted to take some pictures to put on here, because it was really funny. Yuta would hold his taco in one hand and use chopsticks in the other to put beans and sour cream on it and then he would take a bite. It was an interesting combination. They all also ate their fries with forks last night. 🙂 They always make me laugh, and if they don’t, some comment that the family makes in response does!

Anyways, those are a few of the funny moments, most of them are too hard to explain, or “had to be there,” but wow, they certainly make life interesting!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    December 11, 2008 11:55 am

    lol lol lol That whole blog post cracked me up!!!! Thanks for sharing the stories with me (and the others who read this). lol I can just hear your family making remarks and cracking up! I miss you guys! 🙂

  2. Napier permalink
    December 11, 2008 12:51 pm

    Wow, how funny! Sometimes I think Lily is from another country because she takes things so literal. She was playing baseball and Bobby said use both hands and she smiled and showed him one hand on the bat the other in the air, both hands. She kept trying things one night so she could stay up and had a cup of water in her hand. Bobby told her boy are you milking it! And she replied happily, “there’s milk in it!”

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    December 11, 2008 1:00 pm

    Aww Beck, we miss you too. 🙂 I was just thinking about when you, me and Adam went down to Chicago and on the way we saw those Amish people and I tried to take a pic of them by having you guys stand in front of them. All I remember is that in the pic the Amish guy turned out blurry, but he was looking right at me so I think he knew what I was doing…(I was remembering that bc you said we can visit the Amish when I come out there.) 🙂
    Antonia, your girls are so cute! 🙂 I’m waiting to hear back from Brandi about when we can come see you again!

  4. rnaenae permalink
    December 11, 2008 1:03 pm

    I love your stories! They crack me up and make me think of some of the misunderstandings that we have down here! 🙂

  5. December 11, 2008 9:13 pm

    Those are funny. We have so many idioms in America that it’s hard to explain to someone else. Even “What’s up?” has people looking up. 🙂

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    December 12, 2008 10:35 am

    Thanks!
    I guess instead of library stories, now I can post FLS stories…
    Yes, we have a TON of idioms, you don’t even realize till you are trying to communicate to someone who speaks English as a second language!

Leave a Reply

