Skip to content

Lost in translation…

December 4, 2008

Having foreign exchange students is always interesting! Since I work at APU, which is right past Citrus (where they need to be dropped off each morning), guess who gets to take them to school every day? 🙂 So along the way we attempt at having conversations… Sometimes the things they say make me laugh. Every day when I drop them off I tell them to “have a good day at school.” So they started trying to say it back to me. Have good job work? Good job work?

I had thought that when Tommy got back it would make things easier because then I wouldn’t have to do so much entertaining (since my parents have been out of town). I should have known better. Last night we all had dinner at the front house and of course Tommy always says things to just mess around and it just confuses them. So I am constantly saying “he’s just teasing” or “he’s just being silly.” I would be trying to have a conversation with them and Tom would be saying funny things under his breath, that I know they didn’t understand, but it would make me want to laugh. It was so hard to be serious. And then I hear Tommy telling Steven that I should get together with one of the guys (the one I was talking to). So then I am really trying not to laugh. They didn’t help things at all! Steven asked them if their teachers were Asian. The older one looked confused and said to the younger one, “Asian, what’s that?” They spoke in Portuguese for a minute and then said “Asian, yes, a little.” (I still wonder what they thought we were talking about) It was so funny! We laughed about that after they left. They don’t like the dogs. When they left for the back house after dinner, they wanted me to lock up the dogs, so I stood by the dogs as the guys walked by, just so the dogs would stay with me. After they walked through the patio gate, one of them shut it and said “for my protection.” I keep telling them that the dogs won’t hurt them. But of course the dogs keep barking at them so that scares them!

When I asked them how they liked America, they said it’s “very beautiful and organized.” They also said that they noticed that everyone in America drives nice, new cars. They asked if everyone always “changes cars” and said that they have been seeing cars that they have only seen in video games. 🙂 Well, that’s just California for you. When they were late coming back from the Grove, they told me there was “hard traffic.” But they usually always ask if the word/phrase they are trying to say is correct, so I told them “well, we say heavy traffic (which I am sure made no sense to them) or a lot of traffic. The older one also told us he needs to buy a new Christmas tree because his old one blew up. I am not sure if that is exactly what he was trying to say or not though. He was trying to find the right word to describe it and he couldn’t come up with it. So Steven teasingly offered “blew up?” And his face lit up, “yes, blew up!” I don’t know about that…but it did make us all laugh. Anyways, we have these guys for a month so I am sure we will have lots of funny conversations. Unfortunately I can’t usually remember half of the funny things they say. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. rnaenae permalink
    December 4, 2008 10:32 pm

    that is so funny! We have a couple at Bethel who speak porteguese! It is a cool language to listen to!

  2. rufeo permalink
    December 5, 2008 9:03 am

    Sounds like you are going to be laughing allot for a while. Have fun.

  3. Becka permalink
    December 5, 2008 10:50 am

    lol Funny. I love the tree blowing up part. Sounds like having them there makes life really interesting. 🙂

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    December 6, 2008 11:33 am

    Yes, they are always good for laughs. 🙂 Even if they do make things trying at times!

Leave a Reply

