Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving

November 27, 2008

Happy Thanksgiving!

Why do we make all this yummy food only to then stuff ourselves and feel sick? At least I know I  ate too much!  (And we haven’t even tried the caramel pecan cheesecake that I made yet – if it turns out I will put the recipe on here because it was really easy!) Although I did get lots of excercise before I ate so maybe somehow it will all even out? Since our turkey was so big and had to cook for so long, we finally decided to start cooking the rest of the food at the back house, so I did lots of walking between the two houses! And during one of those long walks I stopped to try and get some pics of the beautiful sky! This won’t do it justice, but it was so pretty outside, the weather was perfect!

misc-08-019

Last night I went to see Wicked again with some girlfriends. It is SO good, I love it! 🙂 Can’t wait to see Phantom of the Opera now, although I think I should have seen it before Wicked because I think when comparing the two I will like Wicked better, but we’ll see. The second to last song in Wicked is my favorite, although they are all good.  Apparently people don’t like me linking their youtube songs in here, so I guess you will have to just find the song and listen to it sometime. 🙂 It’s called “For Good.” I have it on my computer but can’t get it uploaded on the blog for some reason. Here’s a youtube link, but it might get deleted too, we’ll see…   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CImGTTuEMEI

Lyrics:
ELPHABA:
I’m limited
just look at me i’m limited
and just look at you you can do all I couldn’t do
glinda,
so now its up to you
for both of us
now it’s up to you

GLINDA:
I’ve heard it said
that people come into our lives
for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
and we are lead to those
who help us most to grow
if we let them and we help them in return
Well i dont know if i believe that’s true
But i know i’m who i am today
because i knew you.

Like a comet pulled from orbit as it passes a sun
Like a stream that meets a boulder
halfway through the wood.
Who can say if i’ve been changed for the better
but, because i knew you
I have been changed for good.

ELPHABA:
It well may be
that we will never meet again in this lifetime
so let me say before we part
so much of me is made from what i learned from you
You’ll be with me
like a hand print on my heart
Now whatever way our stories end
I know you have rewritten mine
by being my friend

Like a ship blown from it’s mooring
by a wind off the sea
like a seed dropped by a sky bird
in a distant wood
Who can say if i’ve been changed for the better?
But because i knew you

GLINDA:
because i knew you

BOTH:
I have been changed for good

ELPHABA:
And just to clear the air i ask forgiveness
for the things i’ve done you blame me for

GLINDA:
But then i guess we know there’s blame to share

BOTH:
And none of it seems to matter any more

GLINDA:
Like a comet pulled from orbit
(like a ship blown from its mooring)
As it passes a sun
(By a wind off the sea)
Like a stream that meets a boulder
(Like a seed dropped by a bird)
Halfway through the wood
(in a wood)

BOTH:
Who can say if i’ve been changed for the better?
I do believe i have been changed for the better

GLINDA:
And because i knew you

ELPHABA:
because i knew you

BOTH:
because i knew you,
I have been changed…
for… good

3 Comments leave one →
  1. rufeo permalink
    November 27, 2008 11:21 pm

    Hey, glad you enjoyed your thanksgiving. That cheesecake sounds delicious… I think you might have out done yourself… I only made cookies (gluten-free)they weren’t too bad.
    btw when are you seeing phantom?

  2. November 28, 2008 11:34 am

    What a pretty picture! Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. I think we all ate too much. 🙂

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    November 28, 2008 6:40 pm

    How did you make the cookies, Ruth? We are going to see Phantom Jan 27.

    Sorry for those of you who tried to listen to the song (For Good) and couldn’t. I guess it got deleted, but I put it up again, we’ll see if it stays up there.

Leave a Reply

