Skip to content

More fires

November 16, 2008

We have been having lots more fires since I last posted the link to the Santa Barbara fire!! The air around here is so bad, lots of smoke and haze in the air. Whenever you go outside all you can smell is smoke! Thankfully they aren’t close to my house, but they are close to the homes of people in our church. Several were not able to make it to church today! The freeway situation has been pretty bad too, lots of closures! It takes hours to get somewhere because everyone has to all converge on just a few freeways!

Please keep our firefighters in your prayers as they struggle to put out all these fires. Also all of the people who have been affected by the fires, many homes have burned!!

 

http://www.planetc1.com/cgi-bin/n/v.cgi?c=1&id=1226863591   (I live near the number 10 on the map, if you can see it)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2008 5:34 pm

    I had to stay home from church today bc of asthma! James and I also got stuck in Pomona yesterday bc of the closure on the 57!

  2. James permalink
    November 16, 2008 6:55 pm

    I had to stay home from church since I broke a nail.

  3. November 16, 2008 10:29 pm

    yeah, i’m not enjoying the fire nor the hour and a half i was stuck in traffic the other day

  4. Becka permalink
    November 17, 2008 10:14 am

    I guess at this point, I am very glad I am out of the area! Wow, James (D., broke a nail, huh. How long are your nails anyway? 🙂 lol

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    November 17, 2008 12:03 pm

    Wow, that’s crazy. My dad and brothers were trying to get back from Newport Beach and it took hours! I was so thankful that I didn’t need any of those freeways! I heard that someone was trying to make it back to this area from OC and it took 5 hours! Insane!!!
    I hope you are feeling better, Renae. The air seems to be clearing up somewhat!
    Aww, sorry about the nail, James. 😉

  6. November 17, 2008 3:00 pm

    thanks! I have friends that were coming home from Ironwood! Yep all day on the road!

Leave a Reply

