Skip to content

YES ON PROP 8!!

November 1, 2008

Yea for Saturdays, I love Saturdays! This morning I went out to Upland for the Yes on Prop 8 rally and had so much fun! I had originally planned to stay just a short time and then run over to the church for doorknocking, but we didn’t start the rally right away and by the time people started showing up I would have had to leave to make it in time, so I just stayed. We were supposed to be there from 9-11, but we ended up staying past eleven. I finally left at 11:45 so I could grab lunch and go help Vera get ready for her party tonight.

You guys, the rally was awesome! Well, we call it a “rally” but I am not sure why. It was just a bunch of us with Yes on Prop 8, McCain/Palin etc. signs. When I got there at 9 there was NO ONE there and I was like??? In fact I started to drive away after a while and then I saw that others had shown up so I went out there with them. By the time I left, there were hundreds of us on the corner of Foothill and Euclid, as well as up and down Foothill and Euclid! And most of the people driving by would give us a thumbs up or honk and wave so it went really well. One of the organizers said it was the best response they had seen! Anyways, it was a lot of fun. We were talking about the fact that the No on 8 and Obama people had gotten in the newspaper a few days ago for the fact that they had 10 or so people protesting on the same corner, but that we had 100s and no reporters! Hmm, not that the media is biased or anything…

Tonight we had our Bible study (Core Group) with the youth group and that was a blessing! Now I am so sleepy, but thankful that we gain an extra hour tonight!!!

Yea, I’m going with friends to see Wicked again, and Phantom of the Opera in Jan! Just got all the tickets tonight (the real reason I am here online!) Okay, and now I am going to try and sleep! Hope you all have a great week and enjoy the extra hour!! 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. walidazami permalink
    November 2, 2008 1:02 am

    I respect your opinion because this great nation gives everyone that opportunity. You will never know, and I hope you never ever do know the pain of losing someone in your life because they were gay, or rather because they felt society would never accept them. I just ask that you consider that it IS possible to be a wonderful Christian and still give others the right to experience life as you are allowed. That makes America beautiful and that’s what makes God beautiful. When you flash the YES on 8 signs, please consider that there are teens driving that hate who they are, hate how they were born, and are seeking any reason to keep hope alive. When they see that there is no chance for them to even have equality after they pass the cruel high school years, it burns out another candle of hope inside. You may never see this side of the issue and I pray that you never see the pain of losing someone near you but I assure you with every bit of my soul that your YES ON 8 signs do carry a negative affect. Please know that it is God’s job to judge, not ours. It’s his job to punish those considered “sinners” and not ours. Please know that each of us can make an impact on a person’s life. Just choose wisely and be more kind.

  2. November 2, 2008 10:55 am

    What about the children in California?
    Is Proposition 8 child abuse?
    Do children’s mental and emotional well-being matter?

    In California, imagine how SAFE the young children of gay or lesbian parents are feeling during this PROPOSITION 8 INSANITY.

    Would children feel SAFE if they knew other families were voting, for God’s sake, VOTING on whether their parents deserved the right to be married and treated fairly in society?

    How SAFE would a boy feel knowing some parents and teachers do not believe his own family is the same as their families?

    How SAFE would a girl feel knowing some children do not believe her own family deserves “the same” as their families?

    Now even young children ECHO this intolerance on the playground, thanks to their parents hateful words and ideas. How sick for the children of the YES ON PROP 8 crowd to feel more deserving than other children and their parents! Many children already know and love their gay uncles, lesbian grandmothers, and other FAMILY MEMBERS who are LGBTI, so we have created a hideous world with PROPOSITION 8 and other amendments like it in the U.S. Children are living in a world where they are witnessing adults spending MILLIONS and MILLIONS of dollars FOR or AGAINST their FAMILY.

    Children deserve to grow up in a world where they BELONG.

    Children deserve to grow up feeling SAFE.

    How sick of a society that we ALLOW family rights to be VOTED ON?

    Straight and gay children are being raised by straight and gay parents, but the government forgot that we are ALL interconnected in our families and in society. So now PROPOSITION 8 has brought children into this culture war, a war based on the assumption that some families deserve more legal rights and protections than other families in times of sickness, death, and divorce [for starters]. SICK.

  3. Simon permalink
    November 2, 2008 3:06 pm

    Walidazami & Johnbisceglia those were some of the dumbest things I have ever read.

  4. November 2, 2008 9:45 pm

    Hey Jen, Glad you had fun at the rally! I am jealous that you are going to see Phantom of the Opera! I love that play!

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    November 3, 2008 8:26 am

    I don’t have time to respond to these comments at the moment since I am running out the door to work, but I will get back to them later!

  6. Becka permalink
    November 3, 2008 9:16 am

    Wow, this is the biggest response I’ve seen on your blog page. Just post something really political and all kinds of ppl find your page! lol Look forward to reading your replies. I know basically what they will say, but I look forward to reading them anyways. Too bad I couldn’t have gone to that rally with you – actually, too bad I don’t live in CA anymore to vote in that one! 🙂

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    November 3, 2008 12:53 pm

    Beck, I’ve actually gotten comments like this on previous posts, but they usually include language that causes me to delete them! 🙂
    My response to these comments is in a new post on the front page!

  8. Becka permalink
    November 3, 2008 4:11 pm

    I’d rather be in my “mindless state” as you so eloquently put it, then vote for something totally against the Bible, and thus being against God.

  9. lahona permalink
    November 12, 2008 1:34 pm

    Friends, be aware that there are persecutions starting up using the donor lists. Your voices in support of these targets is helpful. We shouldn’t let our p8 friends and donors twist in the wind alone. This man stood up for his personal beliefs on family and lost his job this morning because of it.

    http://beetlebabee.wordpress.com/2008/11/12/persecution-continues-martyrs-for-prop-8/

  10. jenmarie permalink*
    November 12, 2008 5:12 pm

    Lahona, thanks for the link. It’s ridiculous the way Prop 8 is still being fought! What was the point of voting if they are just going to overturn it again? Maddening! That is too bad about the backlash against prop 8 donors, it shouldn’t be allowed!

Leave a Reply

