Skip to content

Sarah rocks!

October 4, 2008

Today’s rally pretty much wiped out my whole day, but it was totally worth it! We had a blast! I have no idea how many people showed up (reports were that 26,000 tickets were given out and the Home Depot Center Tennis Stadium only holds 13,000) but the place was PACKED! They really should have used a bigger facility because they could have packed it! As it was they must have had to turn away tons of people! Who knows what time the gates opened this morning (my email said 10 AM, but others told us 10:30, 11, and 11:30 so I really don’t know) but when we got there at 12ish, the line to get in was ridiculously long! I am sure most of those people didn’t make it in! Security getting in was tight, so the line moved really slowly! We ran into a few people we knew sort of (people we had met at the call bank center and then people I know from the library, naturally – I run into them everywhere I go) πŸ™‚ The weather was cool and rain was predicted so we weren’t really sure what to expect in that regard. It did start sprinkling near the end of Sarah’s speech, but that was pretty much it. Other than that it alternated between cool and hot. πŸ™‚

The tickets we had for the VIP section were behind the platform and we didn’t really want to sit in that section, so we walked around for a while before just sitting in a random section. The seats were decent, although had we known she was going to stay and sign autographs afterwards it might have been worth in to have gone down to the standing room only section at the base of the platform. I don’t thinkΒ I really would have liked to stand that whole time, but an autograph would have been cool. They wouldn’t let us go down there after the rally, although I did try! πŸ™‚

Before Sarah came out various senators, assemblypersons, and celebrities spoke. That was fun. Meg Whitman (Ebay) and John Voight spoke, as well as people like Bob Margett and Bill Jones. The crowd was so pumped up! One section started the wave over and over again, and in all the down time we were constantly chanting things like “USA” “Sarah” and “Drill, Baby, Drill.” The atmosphere was great! Of course there were protesters outside when we first got there, as well as the few lone Obama fans inside who made a scene! (they are so obnoxious!) We were all happy when they got taken out of the stadium!

Anyways, Sarah’s speech was great, she did a good job and everyone loved here, of course! I LOVED the Madeleine Albright quote that she said she had read the day before on her Starbucks cup.” There is a special place reserved in Hell for women who don’t support other women.” πŸ™‚ Madeleine might be regretting that comment now….

Link to all pics from rally:

http://picasaweb.google.com/jennifermariedunlop/PalinRally08#slideshow

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2008 8:33 pm

    How fun to see her in person! Sounds like a great rally.

  2. Diane Warner permalink
    October 5, 2008 12:41 pm

    Hey Jenny, I was down there in the VIP section and got her autograph on a t-shirt I bought there at the rally. I also spotted someone from Gethsemane Church who is the equivalent of Vera at Lighthouse at the Rally. Sarah was awesome! McCain ~ Palin team definitely has my vote!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    October 5, 2008 12:45 pm

    That’s so awesome! We didn’t get there in time to get good seats in the VIP section, so we sat elsewhere. That would have been neat to get her autograph, I’m glad you were able to!! Wasn’t it an awesome rally? I’m glad I was able to go! (Did you take pics?)

  4. Becka permalink
    October 6, 2008 8:16 am

    Totally wish I could have gone with you! Sounds and looks like it was really fun! I enjoyed the pics and stuff!

  5. concertoenadoll permalink
    October 7, 2008 1:18 am

    I wish I knew what was going on… It’s hard when you don’t have T.V. and you can’t watch anything on youtube…But that’s what blogs are for right πŸ™‚

  6. rnaenae permalink
    October 7, 2008 5:06 pm

    I am glad you had a great time at the rally!

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    October 7, 2008 6:02 pm

    Yes, we had fun! πŸ™‚
    Ahhh, Ji, just vote for McCain k? πŸ™‚ (And tell Eric to stop ignoring me when he comes to church! πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

