Skip to content

I’m back!!

October 3, 2008

Okay, so this is a for real post. Yesterday’s doesn’t count because I barely had a chance to start typing before I had to stop. Anyways, it is SO beautiful outside today!! Yea! Wed was the first day of October and over 100 degrees here! It felt like July, not Oct. But I think – maybe? – CA has figured out that it is time for fall weather? I hope….Today is beautiful anyways!

So…it’s goodbye to the Green Machine. For real this time. I am sad, it was such a great little truck, even with it’s dorky quirks. I will miss it. Even though I will still get to see it at church and stuff (a friend is buying it). I can’t just up and move now anytime I want. I will have to be one of those people who sniff out the truck owners when it’s time to move. Oh well. Now I need a car! Being without transportation feels weird!! I think it’s just till Monday though so that’s doable.

So…I don’t know if it’s just me being lazy, or my brain desperately needing an escape, but I have been reading a ton of fiction lately. It has been probably a month or two since I have read a non fiction book! And I don’t even have time to read, period! Thank goodness for lunch breaks. That’s another thing I am going to miss when I leave GPL. Being able to just grab a book or magazine when I take a break, and being able to grab a CD when we need music in the back! There are lots of things I will miss…I have mentioned some before. I will miss the familiar routine, I’ve worked there almost 9 years, and been there total almost 11 1/2 years! I will miss my coworkers, the food, the zany patrons, the city employee status, the police station, and my fan club. 😉

Speaking of patrons…we have this lady who every time she comes in is wearing an  “I Love My Husband” pin. (Maybe I’ve mentioned it before). We have speculated that maybe it’s a counseling technique. Every time they have a fight, they have to wear the pin all day. Who knows. And I just realized we have a celebrity patron, of sorts. He has come in for years, but I didn’t know who he was. In the course of a conversation the other day he mentioned that he used to travel with Van Halen (this mentioned after I must have given him a blank stare at the name of his friend, “Michael Anthony”) I guess he was Michael’s “tech guy” to put it succinctly. So anyways, after he left I googled his name (Kevin D.) and “Van Halen” – since our patrons are always telling us interesting stories..and sure enough, there was his picture. Along with it we found some blogs with comments like “whatever happened to Kevin D, is he around anymore?” I asked my coworker, “should I respond, “um, he’s at GPL right now.”? Anyways, then I found out that Michael A. lives in Glendora too.

So there was this guy in a few weeks ago that I wish you could have all seen. Or heard. He was the epitome of braggadocious! I honestly don’t think I have ever seen someone like him before! He leaned on the front counter for an hour and talked to other patrons (and staff) as they checked out books. He told one patron “I’m kinda like Bill Gates, Hugh Hefner, and (some other rich person, I forget) all rolled into one, humbly speaking.” And “I make 6 figures, soon to be 7.” And to our head librarian (who had come out to hear his idea of his getting a “corporate” library card – since his had 700.00 in fines on it and therefore he couldn’t use it. I’m thinking “use the 6 figures to pay it, duh?” But of course the 6 figures probably exist only in the brain) he said, “Aren’t my hands soft? The ladies are always jealous. They say it’s not fair that I have long eyelashes and soft hands.” Seriously, this guy was a trip. And needless to say he felt entitled to hit on all the female staff who were completely repulsed by him. Just another day in the library.

So this is a random thought I have been thinking lately. APU is way over populated with red heads. Seriously. I don’t think I have ever seen so many redheads in one place in my life. Not even in Scotland where most of the redheads I saw were fake anyways. It’s so weird. Like, what makes APU attract so many redheads? The braininess of redheads I guess. 😉 Kidding.

Okay, I better get back to the laundry. Can you believe it? I actually have time to do my laundry today! It is the most wonderful feeling!! Another wonderful feeling is the possibility of Europe next summer! I am beyond excited! I am so ready to travel again!!

Tomorrow is the rally so hopefully I will have some cool pics to post. I still have pics from other events that I am supposed to put on here. Maybe I will just add one totally random gallery. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    October 3, 2008 3:53 pm

    I always enjoy your library stories. Of course, college libraries are a little more calm, so maybe there won’t be as many anymore! Sad. 😦

  2. October 3, 2008 7:57 pm

    Thanks for sharing your stories! Hope you get the car you want! 🙂

Leave a Reply

