Skip to content

Can I go home yet?

September 6, 2008

Sheesh, today has been one of those days! Seriously, it must be the water. Like everyone who has come in to the library (GPL) today has had a major chip on their shoulder! And they are having fun causing us problems! I am so thankful my days here are almost over!!! I will miss being a city employee and all the perks, but I am not going to be missing the public so much. Well, I will miss the nice people. Like the little boy yesterday who handed me a rose bouquet (I think he had picked them from our planter out front) and told me “for the librarian.” He was so sweet and the flowers smelled so good! Or the man who teasingly told all his kids to give me a tip as they were checking out, since he had overheard my comment that even if we had a tip jar out, no one would give us money. 🙂 I won’t miss the tall skinny redheaded guy who comes in with his pants pulled down way too low. Gross. Last time I had to help him, he came up to the desk singing and I had to keep interrupting his singing to find out how I could help him. He would answer my question and then go back to singing! I am so not kidding, it was weird! He comes in fairly regularly, even applied to work here once! And I won’t miss all the grumpy, rude women who came in today!

Speaking of work, since I will now have student workers under me at APU, I dreamed last night that I was back at MBBC with a ton (like 50-60) student workers who were all sitting around playing video games and I couldn’t get them to work. Sigh. “Librarian” nightmares. 🙂

Anyways, oh yeah, then we had Sammy in today. Sammy who likes to run around the library and throw rocks at people! (Yesterday I had to kick out a guy who was dropping ice from the second floor onto people who were walking up the stairs!) Sammy has got to be the rudest kid I have ever met in my life! I heard lots of stories about him today at the staff meeting (they found him hiding under a computer station at closing yesterday) but I had never met him till I had to help him today! Wow.

Fun times. Maybe I will miss it, maybe I won’t.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    September 8, 2008 8:24 am

    So, no more Glendora, huh? That is exciting though in a way. I think it is great that you will be working full time at APU. Funny stories, btw. Always makes me laugh to read your accounts! 🙂

    Hey, speaking of Library stories, the lady came in the other day and said that she didn’t have her card, but could we please look her up by her SS#? Umm… why would we have that? lol People don’t think sometimes. lol

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    September 9, 2008 5:40 pm

    Well, I am actually working both jobs right now till they can find someone new. So like today I worked 9-12 at GPL, ate lunch, worked 1-5 at APU, then back to GPL for 5-9. So it makes for long days, but oh well. It will be over eventually! 🙂
    Yeah, lol, I’ve gotten the SSN Q. before. Wow, we had some horrible patrons the other day! Seriously, people take their bad days out on us! But then they probably do that to you too!

Leave a Reply

