Skip to content

Quick overview of both trips

August 18, 2008

Okay, I don’t have much time so we’ll see how much I can write! (it will be random too!)

16 of us left Fri, Aug 1st for Alaska and arrived in Anchorage at about 1 am on Sat. A local pastor came and picked us up (and a group of guys who flew in about half an hour later than us – they were coming to help out at his church) and took all of us to his church where we all spent the night. The next morning he took our group back to the airport where we took a small plane up to Unalakleet. For most of the group that was the smallest plane/airport they had ever been on/to and they were amazed. (Fiji was WAY smaller (plane and airport) so it wasn’t too shocking for me) When we got there it was really cold (as it was all week) so we bundled up and walked the mile or so to the missionary’s house. The missionary took all our luggage over on the ATV. Sometime later we realized that Darlene’s luggage hadn’t made it to Unalakleet with us so they started trying to figure that out. I hadn’t seen my suitcase but wasn’t too worried since I figured it was somewhere. When I later started looking for it I realized that mine hadn’t made it there either! So for 3 days we both lived out of what we had happened to bring in our carry ons! I am SO thankful for all the items I had thrown in there last minute!

The whole week was cold and windy and I made good use of all those Wisconsin items that I had held on to for some reason! I didn’t go fishing (to make a long story short!) but I did go berry picking with the girls and that was fun! We used the blueberries in pancakes and sweet rolls later and they tasted great. The area where we were staying was right on the coast and not very pretty, but later when we drove east a little (berry picking spot) it was very beautiful! I was amazed at the seemingly poverty stricken town in which we stayed, especially after we were told that the government gives these people tons of money and none of them HAVE to live that way! (but of course they waste it on things like alcohol).

Side note here: we saw several sled dog teams tied up along the beach and some of them had puppies. So of course that became an almost daily event, going to see “our” dogs. (They are so attention deprived, they loved seeing us so much!)

Sun through Tues we did VBS for the local children and had a pretty good turnout so that was exciting. A few professions of faith were made, hopefully genuine ones! Overall it was a good trip, although after a week of cold weather I was definitely ready to be heading to Maui! (And praying that my suitcase made it home from AK so I could take it back with me to the airport the next day!! 🙂 ) We flew in from AK sometime around midnight I think and made it back to LBC at 1 am? All I know is I got home at 1:30 am and was more than ready to sleep before heading back to LAX at 1:15 that afternoon! After a few quick loads of laundry, a wardrobe change, and a shopping trip, we were headed back to LAX to fly to Kahalui, Maui!

When we got to Maui the original plan was for us to go get our rental car and drive to where my parents were staying. When we got off the plane, however, my parents were waiting for us (with beautiful leis and chocolate! 🙂 ) so that was really nice! Especially once we found out they were going to charge us 25.00 extra per day if one of us kids was the driver!! So since my parents were with us they were able to each drive a car (which we ended up trading the next day for a  minivan, but anways). Since it was Saturday night when we got in, and Sunday we were pretty much at church all day (Grace Baptist Church, Lahaina) we didn’t really start doing stuff till Monday. I hadn’t planned on staying in the water so long on Monday when we went bodyboarding, and didn’t wear any sunscreen/tan lotion, so I ended up kinda burned. Which kinda messed up the rest of the week since I then had to try and avoid the sun!! 😦 Oh well, I kinda got a tan. 🙂

Anyways, at the place we were staying there was a pastor and his wife from Wyoming and they knew Nikki Bowers, (they know Russ L’s fam too) she was from their church before she moved to SD? Something like that. So that was kinda fun, talking about our MBBC connections. 🙂

Okay, um…a few highlights since this is getting too long. Aio (sp?) Needle was beautiful, totally rainforesty and my mom and I got caught in a sudden downpour on the way to the car. Road to Hana was nice, although we all got kinda carsick and didn’t finish the road (I was bummed since I totally wanted to see the black sand beaches), um…Parasailing was cool, not exactly what I had expected (once you get up in the air you don’t really feel like you are moving much, till they yank the rope and THEN you move!!), my brother told the guy that we wanted a water landing and so at “takeoff” and landing he totally dunked us in the water, I was soaking! Um…biking the volcano was cool. But it was so cloudy that we didn’t get to see the sunrise (which was the reason we got UP at 1:30 am to do the sunrise tour (I don’t think I have ever done that in my life (up at 1:30 am) , and hopefully never again) Our driver was from Morocco and was pretty funny. I think I would like to see Morocco someday, that has always seemed like a fascinating place to me. Bodyboarding was fun, of course, I could do that every day I think. The waves weren’t that great (compared to SoCal beaches) but the water was beautiful!  Anyways…it was an awesome trip!! I will post the pics as soon as I can go through them and delete all fam ones that have been vetoed. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    August 18, 2008 3:06 pm

    Sounds like a lot of fun – sorry you got sunburned! 😦

  2. August 18, 2008 5:50 pm

    I am glad you had a good time at both places! Looking forward to pics!

  3. August 18, 2008 8:03 pm

    Glad to hear you had good trips and made it back safely.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    August 19, 2008 7:15 pm

    Yes, it was FUN FUN FUN! I think I could do vacations year round, they really are pretty nice compared to normal life. 🙂 Maybe Heaven will be like that, year round vacations!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

