Skip to content

Aloha from Maui

August 11, 2008

Hey everyone,

Things are going great here, it’s very beautiful and some spots remind me of Fiji! (Pics of Alaska will be uploaded when I get home on Sat) Today we went snorkeling at Honolua Bay and then found a good bodyboarding spot along the highway on the way home! That was a lot of fun, but I think we stayed out too long. None of us were wearing any sun protection and all ended up with sunburns! We are supposed to be heading out right now to the Iao Needle (spelling?), Jaws and then to do some shopping…so we’ll see… news on John Edwards has trumped the trip right now… I think tomorrow is the Road to Hana so that should produce some good pictures! Well, I guess I better run.

PS, thanks for praying for the Alaska trip, it went well and we had great weather!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Antonia permalink
    August 13, 2008 12:11 pm

    So glad you are having fun! Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    August 13, 2008 12:55 pm

    Hey Antonia,
    I’m trying to put some pics up right now, we’ll see if it works. Hey, they surf really weird out here! (maybe you knew this) They paddle out with an oar and while standing up on their board (I’m not sure what they do with the oar once they get out there)

  3. Antonia permalink
    August 14, 2008 1:51 pm

    That is paddleboarding. It originated from Hawaiian/Polynesian cultures. It has just caught on in CA over the past two years. You would probally see more of it on our coast but the boards are pricey ($1,300+)! They catch the waves with the paddle and hold on to it through the ride. The only thing I wouldn’t like about it is being to see what is in the water under you! I rather not know! Remind me to tell you whats at Mondos -k-.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    August 14, 2008 8:49 pm

    Hey Tonia,
    I realized it was paddleboarding after I wrote that, but didn’t get a chance to get back online! We got a little Hawaiian culture today on our way up to Haleakala since our van driver was playing Hawaiian reggae (a little annoying) 🙂 Okay, I will remind you. Isn’t Mondos where it’s supposed to be easy for beginners? Maybe I don’t want to know… 🙂

Leave a Reply

