Skip to content

An earthquake!!

July 29, 2008

So I wasn’t planning on posting right now, but since I am sitting outside with the rest of the GPL staff….I might as well. I just got to work but they aren’t letting anyone in while they inspect the building. I was at Wal Mart half an hour ago when the 5.8 Chino Hills earthquake ‘hit’ and it was kinda scary! At first I could feel the floor vibrating pretty good under my feet and I was like ‘oh wow, an earthquake.’ I figured it would be over in a few seconds and then it got worse! The whole building was shaking and ceiling tiles were falling, things were falling off shelves and it didn’t seem to want to stop! It seemed to last forever! I was looking for a place to duck under since the ceiling tiles were falling, but there was nowhere to go! So I just stood there with everyone else, it was crazy! I don’t really like earthquakes anyways, and this one was pretty strong!! Even after it was over I felt like I was still shaking. (probably all the aftershocks) I don’t think I have ever felt an earthquake that strong before. (Okay, I probably did feel the ’92 earthquake, but I was only 8 then so I don’t really remember)

Just some extra excitement for today, as if my day hasn’t already been interesting enough! 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2008 1:05 pm

    It was actually an earthquake with two aftershocks attached. the earthquake was 5.8 and the two aftershocks were 3.8. there was also an aftershock about 5 minutes after the initial earthquake. I have never experienced an earthquake from the ground floor of the building. It is very scary.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    July 29, 2008 2:11 pm

    Well, to get technical, they downgraded it to a 5.4 now, with 27 aftershocks! 🙂 But yes, the biggest aftershock was 3.8. Nice! 🙂

  3. Antonia permalink
    July 29, 2008 9:20 pm

    I’m glad you are okay! The tiles were falling – how scary! Can you believe we felt it all the way up here?

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    July 30, 2008 8:32 am

    You felt it up there? Wow. But then I guess they felt it all the way in Las Vegas so…it must have rippled pretty far out!
    Yeah, it was kinda scary, I was like “is the whole building going to fall? – just cuz it kept going for so long and was so strong!” (I’m such a baby)

  5. July 30, 2008 2:41 pm

    How scary! Glad to hear you are okay.

  6. Becka permalink
    July 31, 2008 8:12 am

    I am SOOOO sad that I missed it! Nothing exciting like that has happened here yet…. 🙂 I like earthquakes! 😦

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    July 31, 2008 10:26 am

    Yeah Beck, actually I guess it was pretty cool. I was thinking later, “why do I dislike earthquakes? They are kinda fun.” They give you a pretty good adreneline rush! I guess it’s just the idea that the building could fall on you that I don’t like. 🙂

Leave a Reply

