Skip to content

Camp 2008

July 19, 2008

I’m in the process of uploading all the camp pics into Picasa. Once they are up and I can add captions I will add them here. (to the right under “pictures”)

Let’s see…on Monday we got up to camp in the afternoon and got settled into our cabin. It was nice and cozy since every bed in my cabin was filled and it was a small cabin. Later that day we realized that an 18 person cabin was open so after getting permission the 12 of us in my cabin moved to the empty cabin down closer to the chapel. Now we had lots of room…and lots more bugs. 🙂 After killing tons of beetles and spiders we were finally able to settle in. 

After getting things set up I went down to the counselors’ meeting and was assigned a team for the week, yea. 🙂 My girls (and some of the guys) loved the fact that I was a team captain with a single guy my age and spent the rest of the week trying to hook us up. “He’s 24, you’re 24, he has a masters’, you have a masters’…AND he’s going to be a youth pastor, you guys are PERFECT for each other.” Needless to say they embarrassed me a few times! Our team was the “Poodles” since this year was “dogs” at camp, and we lost. But I thought we did pretty well all things considered. At least we had fun. We CERTAINLY had fun in the cabins, especially the last night! We spent two hours on a “love note” that didn’t end up getting read out loud for everyone (like they normally do), but it was an awesome note. We had so much fun writing it! (the pics in the gallery will explain some of it) Fun memories!!

And of course the preaching was great. A lot of good decisions were made, so that was awesome! I was convicted to be more “soul conscious” especially when out doorknocking. Instead of just inviting people to church, I need to be spending more time actually stopping and witnessing! So today was a good chance to practice that! I was only able to talk to three people, and one actually let me go through the plan of salvation with her! So please be praying for her that she will come to church, she didn’t get saved, but she was open! (sorry, I didn’t get her name. 😦 )

On the way back from camp, Tommy, Heather and I rode with Craig and the speaker. Since we made really good time we were able to stop at In N Out as well as Bass Pro Shop before taking the speaker (Billy Ingram, whose home church is in WI!!) to the airport. I had never been to Bass Pro before, so that was awesome! (I didn’t really think it would be)

Well, I better run, I forgot about our LBC college class beach bonfire tonight! So that changes the schedule a little! Have a great rest of the weekend!

Melinda, Charlene, me, Heather and Abby at the Thursay night bonfire testimony time. (the rest of the pics will be over in the gallery on the right hand side. Some up now, more later)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2008 4:18 pm

    Looks like a fun, busy week at camp. Glad to hear you made it safely home.

  2. Becka permalink
    July 20, 2008 9:10 am

    Wow, sounds busy and fun! 🙂 I was sad to miss camp this year. This is the first year I haven’t gone to some kind of camp since 4th grade! Can you believe it? Once I graduated from High School, I was always counseling or something.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    July 20, 2008 10:19 pm

    Yes, it was fun. Super tiring, hardly any sleep, but fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

