Skip to content

What an interesting day!

July 11, 2008

Where to begin? It’s been a whirlwind day…I guess I’ll start with last night at the all night prayer meeting for camp. The youth group had a prayer meeting for camp, from 10 last night till 6 this morning. Since I just started working in the youth group last year after camp, I hadn’t gone to an all nighter with them before! I should have brought my camera! I know, I say that so much that it will probably get inscribed on my tombstone. On second thought, I suppose that would be a fitting statement. But anyways, I had almost brought it, but then thought “what am I going to do? take pics of everyone praying when I am supposed to be praying?” so I didn’t. But at 3 am when everyone is acting half drunk (probably from all the energy drinks), they do some pretty “picture worthy” things. Oh well. It was a good night, very tiring obviously. On the way home at 6:30 this morning I was hoping I wouldn’t fall asleep! At one red light I was sitting at, the car next to me, I thought in anticipation of the light turning green, started to go, and then just drove right through the red light as the rest of us sat there and watched. At the next red light I looked in my side mirror and saw a tiny white dog bounding up the busy street towards all of us sitting at the light! It was a main street and I hope he didn’t get hit, he veered out of my line of sight so who knows. It was just a weird sight….as I finally pulled up to the dorm I was thinking “it’s interesting driving early in the morning, I guess you never know what you will see.” (all of the other drivers seemed half awake too)

So since I stayed up all night I ended up “sleeping in” till I think 3? Anyways, now my schedule is way off. I ate “breakfast” at 4 and took a shower about then too. I wonder if I will be able to sleep tonight? 🙂 When I finally turned my phone on I had a message from my dad from 10:30 this morning telling me I might want to go to IndyMac bank and close my account, they had just closed theirs. He said the bank wasn’t doing well. So by the time I got the message and got dressed and over there, the parking lot was totally crowded, a long line at the ATM, and a crowd gathered at the front door reading a posted notice. I had visions of 1929 and a mad rush on banks… Anyways, so I guess the Feds came in sometime today and closed down the bank. 😦 My poor little bank, I liked that bank. The tellers were nice, it was small and convenient, and it still had $2500 of my money! 🙂 Thank goodness I had already moved most of my money to a money market account at CCCU (which has an awesome rate btw!) but I would still like my 2500! 🙂 I guess I can go in on Monday when they are supposed to reopen as a new bank? (not sure how all that works and I haven’t looked into it yet) and can withdraw up to 200 at a time… Anyways, I guess IndyMac hadn’t been doing well for a while and that info got leaked today, which caused a panic…good luck now finding a buyer!

Well anyways, I think I am mostly packed for camp now, I’ll pack all the last minute things on Monday. Hope you all have a good week, keep us in your prayers!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2008 6:39 pm

    Wow, an all-night prayer meeting! We haven’t tried that yet, though I think we had three or four prayers meetings the week of camp to pray for our juniors and teens. Hope you can sleep tonight!

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    July 13, 2008 10:45 pm

    We broke up the night with a few snack and devotion breaks so that helped, but it was still hard! By the time it’s 4 am you can be halfway through a sentence while praying and forget what you were even saying! Hopefully God blesses camp though, it should be a great week!

Leave a Reply

