Skip to content

Book recommends!

June 27, 2008

An occupational hazard of working with books all day is that you inevitably come across way too many interesting reads and check out more than you could ever possibly have time to read! But I still try….

Books I am reading at the moment, if you want some interesting titles:

1. The Woman Who Can’t Forget: The extraordinary story of living with the most remarkable memory known to science.

2.The Dumbest Generation: How the digital age stupefies young Americans and jeopardizes our future

3.Why Popcorn Costs so much at the Movies: And other pricing puzzles. (I got it for the economics, not the title.) πŸ™‚

4.Change Up: An oral history of 8 key events that shaped modern baseball

5.Climate Confusion: How global warming hysteria leads to bad science, pandering politicians and misguided policies that hurt the poor

6. Identical Strangers: a memoir of twins separated and reunited

(I just started that last book and I think it will be the one I finish first, it is fascinating!!) Don’t forget to let me know if you are reading something interesting! I love book recommends!! πŸ™‚

Β 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2008 6:44 pm

    I recently completed Honey for a Child’s Heart by Gladys Hunt and would highly recommend it. I wish I had read it when my kids were younger. Right now I’m reading Safely Home by Randy Alcorn for the third time. It’s my favorite!

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    July 1, 2008 11:39 am

    I will remember that book if I ever have kids. πŸ™‚
    I still haven’t had a chance to read an Alcorn book, but I haven’t forgotten!

  3. Antonia permalink
    July 2, 2008 2:50 pm

    There is a book I have not picked up yet but am going to get soon. The Lolita Effect by M.Gigi Durham is about our culture’s sexualization of younger and younger girls and what we can do to protect our daughters. Since I have two daughters I thought it would be a good book to pick up.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    July 2, 2008 3:08 pm

    Hey you,
    That’s so funny that you write about The Lolita Effect. I just processed it at work yesterday and almost checked it out! I wanted to read it, but considering the fact that all I have been doing lately is checking out books that I don’t have time to read, I didn’t check it out. Let me know if it’s good!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

