Skip to content

Phil 1:10-11

June 20, 2008

Amongst all the fun books I am reading, I have several counseling, purity, and modesty books that I am reading for a project Hannah and I want to work on – we have big dreams, maybe too big, but we’ll see… Anyways, so I was reading one of the books today at work and one of the statements stood out to me. (I love counseling books, I guess you are supposed to be reading them so you can help others, but I always end up realizing that I need all this information. It reminds me of when we did our counseling observations back in our grad program, I always learned so much for my own life in those sessions!) Anyways, it said, “Sinful behaviors do provide a certain level of fulfillment or they would never be tempting. They offer a momentary escape or the illusion of relief. But following our sinful desires always suppresses the truth of who God is and what He says about us in the Bible. When we don’t allow God to be who He is in our thinking, when we choose to worship other things in His place, self-created things in life become our substitute gods. The central issue is idolatry. The truth about God is suppressed by our wickedness. As we honor God, we’ll move to honor others. As we dishonor God, we dishonor ourselves and others.” * (italics mine)

So it’s not the most profound thing I have ever read, but it just made me think about how I live my life and how my thinking affects how I view God. If I don’t allow God to be who He is in my thinking, then I tend to worry about things that He has already promised to take care of. If I don’t view God as I should, then I tend to live my life selfishly instead of living for God and others, and I become my own idol!

If, however, I do live with the thought in mind that Christ is all-powerful and in control, and that I should live my life how He wants me to live, then I can, as Philippians 1:10-11 says, “approve things that are excellent; that ye may be sincere and without offence till the day of Christ. Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God.”

 

 

 

 

 

*False Intimacy, Dr. Harry W. Schaumburg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

