Skip to content

Um, okay…

May 31, 2008

β™₯ Yesterday after the girls got out of school we went out to the park, mall, and to eat. While we were at the mall, Grace out of the blue told me I needed a boyfriend to spoil me. (maybe that is her not so subtle way of still trying to hook me up with Will) It was so funny coming from a nine year old. I was like “hmm, never thought of it like that before…”

Then when we were eating some lady thought I was the girls’ mom. (I guess we look alike πŸ˜‰Β  – reminds me of the guy at the library who asked if I was from Mexico – guess he somehow missed the red hair and blue eyes)

Anyways, the girls were so cute. I was like “wow, was I ever really this young?” I remember being a kid, climbing trees, swinging at the park for hours, but…

So am I the only one left on the planet who hasn’t received their “economic stimulus package check” yet? I am dying to do my part for the good of the economy and go shopping. I mean, if that’s really what’s best for America, I want to be patriotic! πŸ™‚ Okay, just teasing, it’s actually going into savings…but I still want it! Shopping has been banned from my life! I got my credit card statement the other day and it was about 500.00 more than I had planned on it being. 😦 And that was without shopping much, that was just living…staying alive…maybe eating out too much, but you know, food falls under the “staying alive” catergory, so does going to the doctor…! Well anyways…so I have been thinking about this (maybe somewhat lame) analogy ever since I really got serious about saving for a new car. I have cut shopping to a minimum, not because shopping is a bad thing, but because I want something better.Β And then I get convicted and think, wow, I could do so much more with my walk with God if I approached it the way I am approaching saving! Cutting out the peripherals and focusing on what isΒ more important! It is hard to stay focused sometimes, I guess I just get too lazy, even though I hate that! I have so much to work on! No amens! πŸ™‚Β 

Β 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2008 8:42 pm

    We got our economic stimulus check early (actually it was direct deposited to our bank account), but I think my parents are still waiting for theirs. We got more than we expected ($1800) because of the kids, so we decided to give some to a missionary and save the rest for a newer vehicle. Hope you get yours soon!

  2. MIriam permalink
    June 2, 2008 12:05 am

    That is really sweet of you to take the girls out shopping and dinner! They must really love you now!:) Very cute pic!

  3. Becka permalink
    June 2, 2008 7:36 am

    Looks like you had fun! I was trying to figure out who would be 10 about now, so thanks for the pic! πŸ™‚ We haven’t got our check yet. I have this chart at the library and the mailings depend on the last digits of your SSN. So, we are one of the last mailings. That’s probably what is up.

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    June 2, 2008 1:26 pm

    MR – I just got a schedule from the library for the Econmic Stimulus Checks (based on last two of SSN). I knew it was based on the last 2 numbers, but didn’t know when they would send them, now I do. Mine should be sent in a few weeks since the last two of my SSN are high numbers and I didn’t file direct deposit. 😦

    Hi Miriam!! I hope they love me, I hope everyone loves me. πŸ˜‰

    Beck, they are actually 8 and 9! I thought they were almost 10! – oh, you probably have the same chart we do. πŸ™‚ Us library people….
    Hey, I’ll see you both in a few weeks! Oh, and I was going to call you. I DON’T have the 13th off, because I am working that day so I can have the 14th off. 😦 Sadness….

  5. concertoenadoll permalink
    June 3, 2008 6:19 am

    I didn’t even get my tax refund yet. It’s still in my parent’s house sitting under a pile of papers. It’s not like they can send it to me=)

  6. concertoenadoll permalink
    June 3, 2008 6:22 am

    p.s. GO LIBRARIANS!

  7. jenmarie permalink*
    June 3, 2008 9:24 pm

    Jireh,
    Did you tell the Stackpoles hi for me? I have a story – kinda – to tell you about them. Knowing you I think you would like it. πŸ™‚ (It’s about one of their sons)

Leave a Reply

