Skip to content

Introducing Steve Nash

May 24, 2008

Probably most of you (at least those of you who have lived in So Cal at some point in your life) have met my two German Shepards, Puppy and Princess. But I am guessing most of you have never met Steve Nash (our Steve Nash, not to be confused with the Canadian Steve Nash of greater renown). This Steve Nash, interestingly enough, lives in our rose planter. And the other day I forgot that he lives in the rose planter. (It’s hard to remember something that spends most of his time underground) So I am watering the roses, just spraying the water all over, when out from under a rosebush comes a blinking Steve Nash, water dripping from his eyes. Oops, sorry about that! To make up for it I gave him two tomato slices!

Steve Nash’s origins are somewhat dubious. I believe he came to us from somewhere along interstate 40 between either Arizona or New Mexico. I wonder how he likes California? I don’t know, but I did discover that he LOVES raspberry parfaits! And brownies…a whole lot more than he likes lettuce! (Don’t tell Dr. Miriam!!) What kind of turtle are you anyways? Maybe it’s all these months of calling him Steve Nash, maybe he’s starting to believe he’s human. (My mom refuses to call him Steve Nash. To her he is simply “Turtle.” And you wonder how we ended up with a dog named “Puppy.”)

 

Princess and Puppy on the driveway of the back house

Well, my parents made it home safely last night. We all stayed up late talking (minus Tom who spent the night at church with the team since they had an EARLY flight this morning!)…talking about anything to do with Israel can always lead into interesting discussions and of course ours did. They said they got to see the Temple Project! I would love to see that! They saw the Valley of Megiddo (site for Armageddon), I would LOVE to see that too. Well, someday we all will…. 🙂 Exciting…I can’t wait to go to Heaven!! I mean, this life is cool enough, although I could do without all the heartaches it brings, but Heaven will be just awesome!!!! One of these days…. As I was driving out to LAX the sky, clouds, and sunset were AMAZING! I wished so much that I could just stop and take pics! There was one spot that had dark clouds, but a patch of bright orange sunlight was shining through – looked like a spotlight was shining from Heaven! I love the sky!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    May 24, 2008 10:53 am

    Well, I understand why Steve Nash likes raspberry parfaits. All turtles LOVE fruit and lettuce, and WORMS! I know, because our turtle, Speed Bump (thus named because he was found in the middle of the road) loves grapes! I bet Steve Nash would too! lol And Steve Nash is kinda cute, but Speed Bump has big yellow octagon shapes on all over his shell. Hmmm…. I wonder if there was a Mrs. Speed Bump?…. 🙂

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    May 24, 2008 10:59 am

    I didn’t know you had a turtle, how cute. We don’t even know if Steve is a boy or girl, maybe you should bring yours and they can get together. 🙂 Yes, SN loves grapes too. But he’s not all that big on lettuce though. And he LOVES brownies! What else have I fed him? I can’t remember, but I’ve given him lots of unique things. (my dogs are so weird, they like black licorice but not red!)

  3. Antonia permalink
    May 24, 2008 11:52 am

    Melody saw the pictures and told me, “We have to go to her house some time.” The girls have a card for you so hopefully I can send it out to you soon!

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    May 24, 2008 1:34 pm

    Hey Antonia,
    You guys can come over whenever! 🙂 Well, I technically don’t live there anymore, but I will invite you over anyways. 🙂 Aww, thanks, tell the girls hi from me!

    Beck, um, so are you trying to say your turtle is CUTER than my turtle? Don’t even try to mess with Steve Nash, he is so way cooler than Speed Bump… LOL, kidding. SN isn’t even my turtle so I am not offended. Tom might be…

  5. Becka permalink
    May 27, 2008 1:19 pm

    Ummm… Not necesarrily cuter, but definitely more vibrant. As in colors. There. Tommy can’t argue with that. I’ll take a pic of Speed Bump and send it to you! 🙂

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    May 29, 2008 10:50 am

    Yeah, Steve Nash isn’t all that hot (either of them!) – I have to admit I’m really not a huge turtle fan. But this one is actually pretty friendly, for a turtle!

Leave a Reply

