Skip to content

A beautiful day!

May 14, 2008

It is so amazingly beautiful out today! Truly one of those “perfect” days! I think I am going to bug my brother into going on a bike ride! I just came home after working all day and then going out with a friend for dinner. Do you have someone who just inspires you? In any area… Christy and I are so much alike in so many ways, we have the same goals, same ideals…and we are both so independent!!! Every time we get together it’s just awesome! I have been wanting to save for a house – and rent it out to pay for it – and then she tells me that she is seriously considering doing the same thing. I think I know where all my money for a new car will end up going… šŸ™‚ But that is such a great investment though – and it’s such a buyer’s market right now! I don’t know – it’s something I would really like to do… And we both want to someday own our own business – just waiting for Zaza to come home so we can start! šŸ™‚ Ahhh, dreams…I am so inspired right now!

Anyways, back to earth…today was another one of “those” days at the library, but not in a bad way for once! I had this lady come up to the copy center (I will try to condense it as much as possible since this is actually a really long story) and she has this guy with her, but they don’t really act like they are together. After he goes back to the computer to resend the print job she tells me that she doesn’t know him and just paid him 10.00 to help her research something that “there aren’t any books on yet.” I recognized the guy, he’s in all the time, so I guess she just came in and hired him. Anyways, she whispered that she was really annoyed with him and didn’t want to talk to him anymore. During all this I am printing out 100 pages for her, and having some problems with the print job. But she doesn’t want to go back to the computer and resend it since “he” is still there. I finally get it to print (it was info on depression – and as we are talking she is telling me all about her therapist) and give her the change from her 20.00. As she is leaving she mumbles something about a tip and tossesĀ a 5.00 at me. I tried to give it back to her, but she ran, so I put it in the Friend’s foundation money. I told my coworkers that I hoped she didn’t come back later. They are like “yeah, and say you stole 5.00 from her.” So then like an hour later I get a call in back telling me there is a patron there to see me. I am thinking ‘are you kidding?’ So I go out there and it’s this girl that I’ve seen maybe once before at the library. The first thing she asks me is, “what are you taking to Alaska?” Okay, right away I am super confused. I am like ???? Then I remember she is a girl who was checking out Alaska DVDs and I had asked her where/when she was going and had told her I was goingĀ thereĀ this summer as well. So I am like ‘you mean like clothes and stuff?’ and thinking that is a weird Q. to ask a stranger. She’s like “no, like are you taking a passport?” I’m like, “oh, for like ID? I guess you could, but you don’t need to.” She’s like “don’t you need one for Canada now?” I say “oh, yeah I think so”. Her – “Cuz Alaska is right there next to Canada.” Me – “oh, yeah, well, Alaska is part of the US though so you should be fine.” Then the convo kinda slowly fizzled out – it was so weird, but it made me laugh.

Let’s see…yesterday we had several boys tying together the “relay for cancer” ribbons that were tied on all the trees – and trying to scale the side of the library. (we have two stories) I didn’t know the ribbons were that strong! This is the same kid (named “Fox”) who was climbing on the pergolas (I guess that’s what they would beĀ called) out on the plaza – the same kid who is always getting into trouble. He’s not a “bad” kid, just kinda always into mischief. Kinda like boys always are!! Okay, I could go on since today was interesting, but I am tired of library stories and I am sure you are too!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 15, 2008 5:52 pm

    That is funny about the Alaska and Canada comment. I think we need to emphasize geography more these days (I plan to teach geography this summer with my boys). We were able to drive to Canada last summer without a passport, but I think one is required now.

Leave a Reply

