Skip to content

The Frenchman is back!!!

April 21, 2008

Remember the man I wrote about whose children always damage our videos when they check them out? The man who tells us his wife left him so that we will feel sorry and waive his fines? Well he made an appearance again today (why do I always get these people?) and was not happy that he had a $7.00 fine on his account for a video he returned. This time he told me that he and his wife are both dying from terminal cancer and he is also unemployed! I’m serious, he was whining and telling me how he is just trying to provide for the family and they are dying and he has no money. (As one coworker told me later “if you have no money, maybe you better be careful about bringing things back late”) It’s not that we don’t have sympathy when people have legitimate problems, but this man is just lying. I think he forgot his story about his wife leaving him and how he can’t raise the kids (they are absolute terrors!).  Somehow she is suddenly back and they are both dying? Hmmm…. not totally buying that one… Maybe from someone else, but he is always doing this! I can’t think of a single time when he has NOT had a problem when he came into the library! I honestly think next time I see him I am going to RUN! 🙂

Okay, enough about the library for tonight…

Last night at Jeff and Miriam’s was probably one of the “funnest” (yes, I know that’s not a word) times we’ve had there! It was just one of those “had to be there” nights!!! Clinton and Sam…David A…. Things people drew for pictionary…I think we were all laughing the WHOLE night! I really wish I had pictures from it to put on here!!!! Oh well…

I think my blogging nights at APU are almost over till next fall! (I can still blog from home, I just won’t have the time where I am sitting with nothing else to do) I only work 21 hours here over the summer! It will definitely affect my saving for a new car, but I am really looking forward to the extra time off! Hannah and I want to do some sightseeing and do some writing so fitting that in around my work at GPL, youth activities, summer camp, Alaska and Hawaii should keep me more than busy! Plus we won’t be getting meals from the school over the summer, so the early nights home will be nice so I can cook! No more getting home at 10:30 – unless I WANT to! 🙂 I am going to feel so free!!!! 🙂

Hopefully next week Brandi and I will be going up to spend the weekend with Antonia so I will post pics then!! She promises there is a really good beach for beginning surfers so we’ll see if I get brave again! Somehow I can’t see Brandi, Antonia and I being serious long enough to stop laughing and find the strength to stand up on a surf board – I kinda see us all drowning…. maybe this isn’t such a good idea after all…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 8:56 pm

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  2. Danny permalink
    April 22, 2008 10:54 am

    Hey Jen, guess what?
    I finally returned my library books yesterday… and only because if I didn’t I would have had to pay for the books because the deadline was yesterday, lol. Ah, now I have to pay almost $20 in fines before I can get my exam slip. lol… I had 28 e-mails from Mrs. Mayes in my inbox. HA, oh well… =/

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    April 22, 2008 11:00 am

    lol, Danny – how hard is it to walk over to the library and return 2 books that you are finished with? The weather’s even nice now so it’s not like you would be walking through snow and ice and all that. 20.00 doesn’t seem worth it to me – that’s 5 frappuccinos from Starbucks! 28 emails? Well at least we know Mrs. Mayes is doing her job! 🙂 Well good luck on the exams! 🙂 See ya soon!

  4. April 22, 2008 7:25 pm

    Pictionary’s a fun game. We played that on Saturday night and had an interesting drawing of a roller coaster, which reminded us of the scorpion drawing from a former game. Now I’ll go read your thoughts on marriage. 🙂

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    April 22, 2008 7:28 pm

    Our game was funny because among other things, several times when it was “all play” one of the people would have looked at the wrong word and would draw something completely different than they were supposed to!

Leave a Reply

