Skip to content

Makeup and Men…

April 16, 2008

Okay, so my post isn’t really about men, not much anyways, but I thought maybe that title would make people read it. 🙂

Tonight was the night that I was supposed to go over to “the makeup lady’s house.” (And I did go) I was dreading it all day! I’m missing my nap and dinner to go have some lady put makeup on me?  Yeah, when it comes to sleeping and food…there’s not much that can win over that…But of course I had to go since I said I would… Let me just say that I am a complete skeptic now, I’m not falling for anything anymore! No more gimmicky sales pitches, no cheesy one-liners (not that those ever work anyways)…I’m swearing off makeup – at least makeup salesladies – (this is where the men part comes in…) I’ve already long since sworn off men (see, there it is)…as they can wreak havoc with your sanity (and sanity is a fragile-enough commidity I’ve learned) and now I’m swearing off makeup. Or rather cheesy salespitches and compliments. I’ve learned “oh, you’re cute”  really means she looks like a sucker, I’ll bet I can con her into spending two hours putting on makeup while I try and convince her why this product is “like totally the coolest ever – and it looks SO good on you too!” When men say the same thing – well, you can only guess what they are trying for, but at least I guess you know they aren’t going to whip out a case of makeup and try to sell it to you. Then again, maybe the makeup idea isn’t so bad… So I’ve decided the best solution is to just be completely skeptical from now on. No one is going to pull a fast one on me again by offering compliments by the dozen, nope, not going to work on me.  Men, makeup ladies, they can go hang up all the cheesy “you’re so beautifuls,” I’m not biting.

So back to the makeup encounter. It didn’t get off to a very good start considering that I forgot earlier on in the week that I was supposed to go over there, and hence I didn’t really take very good care of my face, to put it mildly. So needless to say we got a great “before” shot. I could be a poster child for “this is what not to do to your face.” (i.e. stop picking at it and leave it alone already) So we take my pic and she makes me pull my hair back and tells me not to smile. Nice. So we go from bad to worse in a hurry. Anyways, so enough of the play by play (this is in lieu of a photo since I forgot to take my camera with me – if there are enough vestiges of makeup left when I drag myself home at 10:30 tonight I will try and get a pic)…basically everything I tried on was “oh so perfect for you” and “the best product like evuuuuuur“… anyways,  she was so overly enthusiastic about everything and I had no energy left so I’m like trying to make myself smile and look interested even while I am telling her “no, I don’t wear liquid foundation anymore.” And “I don’t wear eyeshadow anymore” Etc…. I wasn’t exactly gushing the way she was…I felt like I was wasting her time! At the end she was telling me that there is some contest and she is entering my before and after pics and “I think you totally have a good chance of winning.” Okay, um, remember what I said earlier about being a skeptic – this is where things like that come in. Riiiiiiiight! But hey, it sounded good I guess, and I suppose it sells makeup – to people who are suckers like I am not. 🙂 Okay, I feel like I have bricks tied to my eyelids, they don’t want to stay open. I wonder if it’s all the eyeshadow or the fact that I missed my nap…hmmm…

Well, if I get a good pic I will post it tomorrow, if not…well, you aren’t missing much. Although I must say, it really does look pretty good, I might be tempted to buy some if it wasn’t so expensive! And the fact that it took like forever to put on – like I have that kind of time in the morning. It’s not like there is anyone at work to impress. 🙂

Okay, so Danny wants me to tell all of you out there that he says hi, and that he LOVES Mary Kay and it’s “like the greatest makeup evuuuuur.” Did I quote that right, Danny? Let me know if that wasn’t what I was supposed to say. 🙂

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Danny permalink
    April 16, 2008 8:45 pm

    JENNIFER MARIE DUNLOP! I did not tell you to say that, lol. I don’t even know who Mary Kay is, lol.

    The LAKERS are the greatest ever! Even better than the Suns… 😉

  2. Danny permalink
    April 16, 2008 8:46 pm

    JENNIFER MARIE DUNLOP! I did not tell you to say that, lol. I don’t even know who Mary Kay is, lol.

    The LAKERS are the greatest ever! Even better than the Suns… 😉

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    April 16, 2008 8:53 pm

    Did you have to say it twice? Lol. Hey, you said to say hi and I said I’d make it good, right? Now you have to send it to 10 people… 🙂 No, sorry, the Lakers are losers who need to go back to MN. 🙂

  4. Danny permalink
    April 16, 2008 9:02 pm

    Hey I have plenty of great friends from MN and so do you, it’s not that bad of a place lol. Actually me and a couple friends decided that Minnesota and Wisconsin are just one big state and that it should be ‘Minnesconsin’ HA. Anyway, the Lakers are not losers, they just won the Western Conference and Kobe is about to get MVP… So stop trippin’ and realize that as a Southern Californian, you have some Laker blood. 😉 Yes you do Jennifer. You know it. Secretly I know you want to be a Laker Girl. 😉 10 people? Mmmk… I’ll send it to some random addresses lol.

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    April 16, 2008 9:09 pm

    Um…a Laker girl as in dance half naked in front of everyone? Don’t even get me started!
    Nope, sorry, no Laker blood. Mmm, trying to think….I guess I probably have some good friends from MN, but I can’t think of any, lol, sorry. I guess they aren’t that good of friends if I can’t think of them, huh? lol…idk.. I used to have good friends from MN, or I thought I did, lol, but…not anymore.
    lMinnesconsin, that’s good. Ask Sheree about Minnesoters. 🙂 I like how we use my blog for “chatting”. 🙂

  6. Danny permalink
    April 16, 2008 9:23 pm

    I know this is great… you know u love them Laker Girls, you wanna be the next Paula Abdul. 😉

    What happened to ur MN friend, Adam… ?

  7. Danny permalink
    April 17, 2008 1:35 pm

    Oh Jen, Why would anybody mess with you, they should know better lol.. Oh well.

    El Torito? Yes, sounds delicious. 🙂

  8. April 17, 2008 5:03 pm

    You look beautiful, Jen. I hope you win the contest.

  9. April 17, 2008 9:05 pm

    Hey Danny & Jen, So I am wondering do James and I get to do this El Torito thing with you? Jen, You looked great, but I don’t like MK they are too expensive and their make-up bothers me. Oh Well. I did enjoy the story! 🙂

  10. April 17, 2008 9:07 pm

    okay, jen really, i’m sure there is a guy out there right now who has sworn off girl’s you two just need to meet and get married.

  11. April 17, 2008 10:24 pm

    Ooooh nice one! 🙂

  12. jenmarie permalink*
    April 17, 2008 10:49 pm

    Thanks guys…Nope Renae, just Danny and Mike and I, it’s a date. 😉 lol, kidding. idk, probably anyone can come who wants to. 🙂

  13. jenmarie permalink*
    April 18, 2008 11:47 am

    Oh hey Renae, I was going to tell you. I was looking at some of the MK prices and actually some of it is cheaper than the Clinique I started using – so I guess it just depends which brand it’s compared to. I use Almay more now and Almay is a little cheaper than those other two..

  14. Becka permalink
    April 21, 2008 12:18 pm

    I have good friends in MN – like umm.. no! j/k. Heather and Alex Walburg live there. I love the whole Minnesconsin thing, Danny! Jen, I would tell you that you look great, but the pics are kinda small and I can’t tell if you’re wearing makeup! lol Your smile is beautiful though! lol 🙂 Oh! I want to go to El Torito as well! lol Too bad that is out of the question!

  15. jenmarie permalink*
    April 21, 2008 2:34 pm

    Hey Beck,
    If you click on the pics they should show as full size…

Leave a Reply

