Skip to content

Library patrons…

April 14, 2008

So a call I got today prompted me to write a few more library stories. I only had one desk hour today (so I got about 140 items added, as well as lots of other things accomplished, that was awesome! I love being off the desk! 🙂 ) This lady called and asked, “Can I give you my number?” And then proceeded to read me her library card number before I could even say anything. After she finished reading it she was quiet. So I’m like, “okay, and what do I need the number for?” She’s like, “There’s a book on my account, I wanted to know how much it would cost to buy it.” So I asked her if she lost it. “No,” she said, “I just want to buy it.” I’m like, “um…we don’t sell our books, the only time you can buy it is when you lost it.” So then she says, “okay, how much would it cost if I lost it?” I don’t know if she just didn’t want to admit she lost it, or if she really just wanted to buy it. She told me, “My kids really liked it so I want to buy it.” When I again told her we didn’t sell them she asked, “well how am I going to get it?” I suggested Amazon or something and she said, “oh…really? I thought like maybe a bookstore would have it.” At this point I am thinking that this is a silly call. “Okay, sure, you can probably get it at a bookstore,” I tell her.  I don’t know why she didn’t just call a bookstore in the first place if that’s what she thought… Anyways, it was a really long and weird call. One of my favorite stories from the library – just because I wasn’t sure if I was seeing correctly – happened last summer. Alicia is a girl who is interesting, to put it mildly. She’s just a little different. Not as different as some of our patrons, but different nonetheless. I was walking up the stairs to go to the staff lounge when I saw Alicia off in the corner looking at something. She had her back to me and didn’t hear me coming. I stopped and just watched to see if I was really seeing what I thought I was seeing. She ran her finger along the ledge of the wall and then looked at the dust that she had wiped up. Then she licked it off her finger! I watched as she walked over to the staff lounge door and wiped her finger along the grate on the door and licked that dust off too! By this time I continued up the stairs and as she turned and saw that I had seen her she said, “Oh I’m so embarrassed” and left as fast as she could! It was so funny! And gross…. When I went back downstairs I told my coworkers…”um…Alicia L___ is upstairs eating our dust.”

Remember the man I told you about who used to write poems and follow me around the library reading them to me? The other day he came up to us on the desk and asked us how many days were in a year. My coworker told him 365 and he mumbled something that didn’t make any sense and then thanked her and walked off. A few minutes later he came back to the desk and asked, “how many days did you say there were in a year?” Again he mumbled something and walked off. We were laughing and trying to imagine what he was writing about.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. MIriam permalink
    April 14, 2008 9:32 pm

    The story about the girl licking off the dust from her finger cracked me up, and I couldn’t stop laughing!!!!

  2. April 15, 2008 6:25 am

    You have the most interesting patrons.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    April 15, 2008 10:59 am

    Yes, that would be putting it mildly. A lot of our patrons I really can’t even put into words, so most of them won’t even make it in here – when they really should! 🙂

  4. Becka permalink
    April 15, 2008 12:20 pm

    Lol – yeah, that was a strange call. We get some strange ones as well, but not super often. AND EATING DUST?! lol That is too funny for words. She sounds a lot weird, not just a little! lol

  5. Danny permalink
    April 16, 2008 12:20 pm

    One of these days, Jen, you are going to end up on somebody’s blog about library patrons too. HA. Just wait and see. 😉

  6. jenmarie permalink*
    April 16, 2008 8:11 pm

    You think I’m a bad patron, Danny? YOU’RE the one with an overdue book! 😉 Nope, I’m perfect wherever I go! 😉

  7. Danny permalink
    April 16, 2008 8:20 pm

    Oh HA, like I believe that one. I’ve been around you long enough to know better than that, lol. Actually, I still have those (multiple – like 2) overdue books. HA

  8. jenmarie permalink*
    April 16, 2008 8:45 pm

    What have I ever done that would make me not perfect? Name one thing! Okay, maybe not, maybe I’m not that brave – but I can’t think of anything that you could say….. 🙂

  9. Danny permalink
    April 16, 2008 8:58 pm

    Hmm. Well, I don’t think it would be very nice or appropriate of me to just put your business out on blast here lol jk.

Leave a Reply

