Skip to content

Yea for David and Sam!!!!

April 12, 2008

I have been pretty busy the past few days so that’s why I haven’t been posting. Today was no different, but I am actually at home now! 🙂 Actually, today was pretty interesting. This morning Heather and I left for the Alaska trip car wash (she spent the past two nights at the dorm) which was from 9-1.

While we were there, a man from our church who had graciously agreed to fix my burned out blinker for me (his daughter volunteered him when she heard it was broken) came over and got my keys to go replace the bulb with the new one I had bought. A little while later he came up and told me that he had fixed my blinker but that he had broken my key off in my ignition! (My first thought was “Ahh, I had this fixed today while I was at the car wash since I don’t have time to go to the mechanic and now I am going to have to go anyways!”) But I’m like, “okay, it’s okay, don’t worry about it.” So I try to call my dad and his phone is off of course because he is on visitation. So I keep washing cars…and trying to call my dad. Finally he turned his phone on at about 11 – I didn’t expect him to turn it on till he was finished with doorknocking which would be about 12:30. So that was a blessing. I had to talk to him to see if he had a spare key, or if I should have Triple A make a new one when they came out. He checked and said he had a key but that he didn’t know if it was the right one or not. So I called AAA to see how much it would cost and they quoted me a price of 225.00. I was so bummed. I’m like “A burned out blinker is costing me 225.00 now!” But I’m like “okay, it’s not like I don’t have the money for it…” So I’m trying to not think about the fact that this day has suddenly gotten expensive, and my dad suggests I see if David and Sam are back from bodyboarding yet so maybe they can come look at it. David tells me he’ll call around to see if he can find a tool to extract the broken-off key but he calls back to say he hasn’t had any luck. One key place told him maybe he could buy a hacksaw and pliers so they went and got that and came out to the church right before the car wash was over…and got the key out in about 10 minutes! I was SO happy! The first thing I did after the car wash was go make a new key so my dad can keep a spare! So my day started out good, just sleepy – then I was a little worried – then I was elated! 🙂 And I felt 225.00 richer after it was all over. Well, minus the tools and lunches! 🙂 (It’s interesting how a little event can change your perspective!) I think David can fix anything! Thank goodness too! The places he talked to didn’t sound real optimistic about him getting it out!

So after the car wash I was supposed to go to a friend’s wedding. Well, he’s really my brother’s best friend and my brother was the best man so I wanted to go. But with how everything turned out I didn’t end up getting to leave the car wash early so Heather and I decided we really wanted to go swimming instead (it was 93 degrees today and after washing a ton of cars I was so sticky and muddy and just really gross!!! I’m sure no one would have really wanted us in their pool! 🙂 ) So we called a friend and left a message and while we waited to hear back from her we went and got my key made…and got some Chinese for lunch. My fortune said “You deserve to have a good time after a hard day’s work,” which we thought was very fitting! But, as I told the guys, my fortunes always sound really applicable and good, but they never really happen – and sure enough we didn’t end up swimming since we never heard back from her! 🙂 But I think we got more than enough sun for the day, so it’s probably a good thing we didn’t stay out in the sun any longer! I was so exhausted and hot by the time I got home! I could hardly find the energy for a shower! I just wanted to drop in bed! Anyways, that was my day in a nutshell (believe me, it could be even longer!) It’s never dull around here. OH, James (my brother) is home from Chile now too! I was going to post that the other day but I didn’t get a chance!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2008 8:29 pm

    Sounds like a busy day! Can’t believe it’s 93 over there.

  2. Becka permalink
    April 14, 2008 12:49 pm

    Wow, what a day! lol Bet you were glad when that one was over! I would LOVE to be in sunny CA right now. It’s nice here, but barely short sleeve weather! Yay! I get to come in like a month and a half (roughly)!

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    April 14, 2008 8:29 pm

    Yes, it was nice to finally drop into bed that night! 🙂 But it was a good tired, we worked really hard and raised double what we had wanted to raise so that was great!

Leave a Reply

