Skip to content

Do you like your name?

April 9, 2008

Names fascinate me, I don’t know why.  My coworkers and I always laugh over the weird names we find in the baby name books that we process. Or the weird baby names that celebrities name their babies. Apple? Phineas? Scout…Poppy Honey…Heavenly…Free…Fifi…Banjo… (they sound like dog names to me!)  Or how about Moxie CrimeFighter? Seriously, I think celebrities have the corner on unique names! (not stage names mind you, names they have actually named their babies!)

I’m so thankful I got a “normal” – albeit slightly overused – name.  My mom told me something about wishing they had named me “Penny” because of my hair. I am thankful they didn’t! I love my name and am more than thankful to my parents for that! The “Jenmarie” in my blog comes from my middle name, Marie, as well as the fact that my mom’s family calls her “DaunMarie” and I thought that was cool. Since my middle name is after my mom’s, I use “JenMarie”

But back to weird names…We have some uniquely named patrons that come in the library. Let’s see…we have Miggle, and Human… those are the only two that I can think of right now. Have you run across any weird names? If you want a good laugh pick up any modern baby name book and thumb through it, you will be amazed! Someone had a good time thinking up names! 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2008 9:38 pm

    I work with a guy who’s name is Ramsey. There is a singer who named his kid, Huckelberry.

  2. April 9, 2008 9:41 pm

    Well, I have a uniquely spelled name, but it is not “odd.” I think nicknames are interesting also. I agree with you about the baby name books. There are some weird names out there.

  3. April 9, 2008 9:42 pm

    oh, i just remembered i used to work with a guy named shasta and another named mustafa but we all just called him “moose”

  4. April 10, 2008 7:25 am

    Some names aren’t as rare as you think. Check out this map of popular baby names which includes some names given to just one baby in a country or region in a year. Those are rare names. 🙂

  5. April 10, 2008 8:14 am

    Sometimes I cant believe that a parent will name thy baby like Pilot inspection.

  6. Becka permalink
    April 10, 2008 12:35 pm

    I like my name as well. There are so many different ways to shorten it and that makes it a very versatile name. There’s Becky, Beck, Bekah, Rebekah (my dad even calls me Rebek). If you’re name is like mine (with lots of different nicknames derived from it) then you can pick the shortened (or long) version that you like or that fits your personality best!
    Hey, you’re name is like that too, Jen! 🙂

  7. April 10, 2008 12:45 pm

    A woman at the hair salon is named Kirby. It makes me wonder if that’s her real name or a nickname.

  8. Picklewillow permalink
    April 10, 2008 3:31 pm

    I don’t appreciate all of these degrading comments about “weird” names.

  9. jenmarie permalink*
    April 10, 2008 4:12 pm

    “Picklewillow” – nice imagination, sounds like the name of a book or something!
    Thanks for all the weird names everyone! 🙂

  10. April 11, 2008 6:53 am

    One of the interesting aspects of names is the gap between actual name frequency, i.e., how often specific names are given, and perceived name frequency, i.e., how “strange” or “exotic” we may perceive a given name to be. Check out TheRightBabyName.com to see how different names rank by these metrics.

  11. Lala permalink
    April 17, 2008 7:41 am

    well…its been a long while since ive entered the ‘comment world’ and may be a lil behind. =) but, in terms of ‘weird’ names – i don’t think of it as necessarily ‘weird’ more like a “customization” of a name. haha.

    but yeah, i get a lot of comments about my name…now my daughter name (if/whenever that happens) her name will be ??? hehe

  12. jenmarie permalink*
    April 17, 2008 11:45 am

    Hi “Lala” 🙂
    I don’t think your (real) name is weird. But then again maybe I have just known you for so long I’m used to it. Maybe the shortened version is “different”, but the long version is definitely pretty! Now about “Lala”…. :)I think you told me what you wanted to name her…if you ever have a girl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

