Skip to content

Back to the library…

April 6, 2008

I guess I better throw in another library post so I don’t lose all my original readers. 🙂 There were so many of you to begin with… 😉

Today was an insane day since our “check-in person” called in sick and so those of us on the desk had to do double duty. It kept us pretty busy the whole day! Plus when I got to work this morning I found out that we had an unnanounced Support Services meeting! I knew I should have stopped to get a frappuccino this morning! I’m sure it would have made everything go much smoother! 🙂 Anyways, so in the midst of helping extra on the desk (we were also crazy busy today so that didn’t help) – I covered some of Matt’s copy center hours and got stuck copying TONS for one girl. In the middle of helping her I could see a lady out on the main floor messing with the copy machine for a while and she didn’t seem to be getting any copies. Normally I would have gone out and helped her, but since I was making so many copies I couldn’t leave. I finally asked a coworker to go help her and pretty soon the lady was in MY line. So I asked her if my coworker hadn’t been able to help her and she told me that she wanted something printed from the computer she was on – I had her go send it to me (since I could see it hadn’t come through on my computer) and then I printed it for her. Later my coworker told me, “that lady you had me go help was trying to get something printed from her computer. When I went over there she had entered her password into our administrator settings (for copy machine settings) and since it was giving her an error message, she just kept trying it!) We were laughing! My coworker was like, “um, this is a copy machine.”

Then I had some guy checking out a bunch of CDs who started telling me about some community center he and his friends started down in LA – “for people to just come and chill.” He told me they would get all kinds of people there, “kinda like you guys get, huh?” He asked if we got a lot of weird people and I told him yes, then while he was talking about his community center I asked if it was like the teen center we have in Glendora. He said – totally seriously –  “yes, but ours was anarchist.” I wanted to laugh because here is this definitely different looking guy telling me about his interesting anarchist community center and then asking me if we get weird people in the library! That would be a definite yes.

Then of course there is “Copy Machine Man” who waits till we say we are closed to go start making copies of the Wall Street Journal. He has been doing this for YEARS! I know because he was doing back when I was a page 8 years ago! I cannot tell you how many times we have been completely closed down except for Copy Machine Man that we are waiting for. My boss said we should just hire him since he must know how to close the library by now. I suggested buying him a subscription to the WSJ, that’s all he ever reads anyways. It seems like with all the money he spends on copies he could just buy himself a subscription! And then there is Mrs. Anderson who comes in every day to check out Humphrey Bogart movies. I don’t know what she will do once we completely phase out VHS tapes! As it is now we have hardly any VHS tapes anyways! I told my coworker that when she withdraws those titles she really should give them to Mrs. A – she’s the only one who even checks them out, no one else gets a chance since she always has them! Then we have Mrs. E who I could tell countless stories about! And lots that would be more than you would want to know! She has two sons, and we only know that because she has told us. You wouldn’t know that by hearing their names, and you wouldn’t know it by looking at them! Well, B looks like a boy now that he is wearing his hair short, but the other boy looks completely like a girl (he has long blonde hair!) A while ago if one of my coworkers hadn’t seen him before, the other who had seen him would ask the other “isn’t that a cute little girl” and inevitably the other coworker would say, ‘oh yeah!’ And then they would look shocked when they were told it was a boy! He came up to the desk the other day and gave me two books to check out. One was,”Potty for Boys” and the other was, “Potty for Girls.” I told my coworkers that even HE is confused, it’s not just us!…Oh the stories I could tell about that family!

Tonight I got all the way home before I realized that we had our Bible study for the youth group tonight! 🙂 We are going through the Tribulation during part of our Bible study so that’s interesting and we are having fun. I love our teens, they are so much fun!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    April 7, 2008 5:58 pm

    lol about “Copy Machine Man.” Seriously, he needs a subscription! lol He used to drive me crazy bc he would just hang out until we said we were closed and THEN go make his copies. I would turn off the copy machine and he would either come turn it on, or I would have to turn it on for him (and of course, go over and turn it back off again!). Keep the library stories coming – though once in a while is certainly fine! lol 🙂

  2. Danny permalink
    April 8, 2008 5:40 pm

    Oh geeze… I wish the Maranatha library was this eventful.. Well, I guess I would never know because I’m never in there lol.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    April 8, 2008 5:48 pm

    Go visit the library, Danny! Tell all my friends hi for me! :)The craziest it ever got there was people pushing the fire alarm button in the elevator and the fire dept. coming out like 3 different times and not being too happy about it! And Clint throwing paper airplanes…actually any time Clint was in there… Other than that it wasn’t too eventful. At least most of the people that came in were nice, and most of them were friends so that was fun.

  4. Danny permalink
    April 8, 2008 5:56 pm

    The MBBC library scares me… or remember when you were here, we said it was called the Cedarholm Libary (no 2nd ‘r’) and Resource Center. lol..
    I’m in the computer lab sometimes, we usually mess around in there.. Maybe I should step inside the library sometime.. Maybe I should also return the overdue books that I’ve had for 2 months. lol.

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    April 8, 2008 6:19 pm

    You have a book that was due two months ago? Hasn’t Mrs. Mayes sent you like a dozen overdue notices? You are going to have a big fine! You better take it back soon! lol, don’t tell them that you know me! 🙂

  6. Simon permalink
    April 8, 2008 7:06 pm

    What happened to my comment?

  7. Danny permalink
    April 8, 2008 7:45 pm

    I might return it 2day. lol… How much are the fines per day lol… oh well, too late now. 🙂 I will be sure to let them know that Jen says hi.

  8. jenmarie permalink*
    April 9, 2008 2:16 am

    “Simon” go away, I don’t like you. 😉

  9. Simon permalink
    April 9, 2008 8:23 am

    I don’t like your attitude.

Leave a Reply

