Skip to content

My soapbox…

March 28, 2008

Okay, please indulge me while I jump on my soapbox and rant and rave for a little bit. 🙂 I have refrained till now, so it’s not like I do this all the time or anything.  But there have been lots of times I have felt like jumping on here! What is with everyone getting a Myspace or more common in “Christian” circles, a Facebook, and posting really slutty pictures of themselves on it? I see these people who used to be friends in High School and I am sadly amazed at what they post on their Facebooks! Doesn’t anyone have any shame anymore? And while I know most of them are looking for attention, specifically male attention, unfortunately I can guarantee the attention they get won’t really be what they are looking for! It really makes me sad to see the direction that a lot of former acquaintances are going! Doesn’t anyone care anymore? And are girls really so naive as to think that if they get a guy by posting slutty pictures that he will a) stay with them, and b) really be a guy of character and integrity? Sadly I know the answer to that is yes. If I could say one thing to every girl out there it would be please don’t get desperate and think that in order to get a guy you have to be easy. The kind of guy you attract that way won’t be the kind of guy you REALLY want in the long run!! Not that I know that from personal experience, thank goodness, but I know it just the same! It would be better to remain single forever than to attract the wrong guy and be stuck for the rest of your life! PLEASE understand that! Our purpose on this earth is not to simply get married, our real purpose is to glorify God. If being married means that, then so be it, but marriage is not the end all! Nor is simply spending countless hours on pointless pursuits like trying to accumulate more “friends” on Facebook than anyone else! Why do we waste so much time on trivial, worthless things? I include myself in this too. But please PLEASE if you are a single girl out there, don’t spend all your time pining away waiting to get married! Get busy and serve God and spend your time conforming to His image, not what you think all the guys want you to be (you’ll be miserable anyways). Am I the only one who thinks this? Please tell me there are others out there who agree with me! Okay, I guess I am preaching now so I will stop, it always gets me in trouble.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    March 28, 2008 4:19 pm

    I agree with you! I hate the fact that they label themselves as Christians after posting stuff like that! It really bothers me!

  2. March 28, 2008 7:03 pm

    It’s sad to see those kind of pictures on Facebook, especially if they are supposed to be Christians. I try avoid those kind of “friends” on Facebook. Sometimes you just have to get on your soapbox and say what’s on your mind and in your heart.

  3. jenmarie permalink*
    March 29, 2008 2:48 am

    Thanks guys (girls ;). I guess that should really have been two posts since I kinda lumped the Facebook issue AND desperate girls into one catergory, but oh well, they kind of go together so…

  4. Traci permalink
    March 31, 2008 3:46 pm

    I completely agree with you about the pictures and the desperation.
    As young ladies behave as godly women and seek to glorify God, they will be more likely to be the kind of person a godly young man is looking for should one come along.
    Better single than sorry!
    (Go ahead and preach!)

  5. jenmarie permalink*
    April 1, 2008 3:43 am

    Thanks! I had some people email me too and tell me to go ahead and “preach.” (I think it’s in my blood.)

Leave a Reply

