Skip to content

Happy St. Patrick’s Day :)

March 18, 2008

I am so sleepy and it’s only 9:30pm! Today was so incredibly nice! It was the first time in almost forever that I had to wear sunglasses when I left work! ๐Ÿ™‚ Usually I am leaving at 10 pm, but I actually got to go home at 6 tonight! It is so nice to be home before 10:30! I feel so free! ๐Ÿ™‚

Today one of my coworkers was telling me a story of her encounter with Grumpy Old man fromย Friday so I have to add that in here to my library stories! I guess as he was checking out his books he asked her what the date was and she said it was March 14th. He then said “oh, so tomorrow is the Ides of March.” She didn’t really say anything so he started going on about Julius Caesar and how he was killed. She was just smiling and nodding, hoping he would move on because she had a line of people waiting when he stopped and started yelling at her. He was like “you don’t care do you? You don’t care that it’s the Ides of March.” She said she didn’t really know what to say since she really didn’t care, but she said that she was like “oh no, it’s not that I don’t care, it’s just…” and kinda trailed off. I wish I could have seen it!

We get TONS of Mormons guys in the library. They all come in to get library cards so they can check their email! Today I was giving a card to one of them who REEKED of smoke. I was thinking “are you guys allowed to smoke?” I don’t think they are, and I really wanted to ask him that but there were too many other patrons around and I didn’t want to get in trouble, so I didn’t. I was really curious to see what he would say though!ย  But other than that today was pretty sane. Well, there was one funny thing I guess but I can’t really repeat it in here.

My brother finally called me yesterday, and only because he couldn’t get a hold of my parents! Nice huh? At least I got to talk to him, it’s been forever! He told me he is finding me Chilean boyfriends, which is nice of him. I really appreciate everyone’s efforts to marry me off! Well, in all fairness I guess he isn’t really trying to find me a bf, I guess they are trying to get him to find them a girlfriend! Or something like that…all I know is he said there are three of them fighting over me!!! lol, I am pretty sure I have never had three guys fighting over me before. In fact, I’m positive! So I suppose it’s flattering in a way…but considering the fact that I don’t speak a word of Spanish I’m not sure how a relationship would work out. (I can’t even get guys who speak English to communicate….) Well, I guess I shouldn’t say I don’t speak a word of Spanish…I could tell them things like “I need ice cream” or the bathroom…or that I love Taco Bell…or to shut up…or “see ya tomorrow” or that they are handsome…I wouldn’t know how to tell them they are ugly so they would have to be handsome!… On second thought, maybe that is enough…those sound like really meaningful things to me… But then again, Chilean Spanish might not even be the same as California Spanish so I might not even be able to tell them that I need ice cream! I might not be able to tell them anything. Well, there goes that idea. Keep trying James, maybe one of these days… ๐Ÿ™‚ I told him the Air Force Academy might have a better group to choose from. ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay, I really need to sleep! But I can’t!!! Not till Ruth gets home so we can have a powwow….zzzzz

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2008 10:30 pm

    How can you tell a person is Mormon? We tried to visit a Mormon temple in California but we were stopped in the parking lot. I guess we didn’t look Mormon enough. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    March 20, 2008 2:26 am

    They wear a white dress shirt and black pants/tie and wear a black name badge that says “Elder so and so” Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.” And they usually ride bicycles too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, they are really secretive and even most Mormons aren’t “good enough” to go into Temples like the one in Salt Lake. I don’t know all the requirements, but to get into some of the temples they have to have passed certain stages, it’s really weird!

Leave a Reply

