Skip to content

Randomness…

March 11, 2008

Last Saturday we had a youth rally for the teens, it was so much fun! Hopefully I will post pics on here soon! (I have some extra time this Thursday since our midweek service is a different night this week, so my brother and I are supposed to go get me a laptop, then I should be better about getting pics on here!) Next Saturday we have our video scavenger hunt for the teens, I’ll try to get pics on here of that too.

Anyways, things are going well here. The weather has me dying to be outside all day. I hate being stuck inside when it is so beautiful outside!… I think I get a few days of “real vacation” in August… 🙂 That is so far away! We have summer camp in July which I will get off work for, and a missions trip to Alaska in August as well, but neither of those will be “vacation!” I know I will be more exhausted after them than before them! I think Tom and I are supposed to fly from Alaska straight to Hawaii to meet up with the fam for vacation, so… it will be a busy schedule!

Well, today was interesting at the library. I know I always say it, but it really was another one of “those” days! We just had a lot of weird people! 🙂 I had one lady who brought a stack of books up to the checkout counter (she had brought them in with her) and she asked me “I want to know when these were returned.” I asked, “when they were returned?” She repeated it, “I want to know when these were returned.” I asked, “Are you returning them right now?” “Yes,” she said. So I am like, “umm… then they are returned right now.” (This wasn’t making any sense.) She’s like, “no…” etc… etc… So finally I am like “you want to know when they are due?” “Yes,” she says, “same thing.” And I am thinking, “um, no.” But whatever, our patrons make no sense! Seriously, we have conversations like that ALL the time! Or people who bring big stacks of books up to the counter (we have a separate place – with plenty of signage – for returns) and hand us their card. After we have finished checking all the books out to them they say “oh, I was returning them.” Nice!

We also get really random calls. You know, if you have a question, call the library because librarians know EVERYTHING! I remember one call I got where the lady told me, “I’m mailing something overseas and I wanted to know how much postage to put on the envelope.” I was like “this is the library.” (as opposed to say, the post office) She was like “yeah…” So I transfered her to reference, they love people like that. They gave her the number to the post office. Dumb librarians, don’t you know anything? Speaking of “dumb” librarians…we really do get people who must think we are dumb. Like the time about a year ago when we were having problems with the men’s restroom getting graffitied… a guy walked by us on the circ desk with a bandana over his face, and walked into the men’s restroom! Needless to say we got a guy to follow him in there and then call the cops! He got arrested. How dumb do they think we are?

Well anyways, more later… 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2008 10:35 pm

    Jen, I always love your library stories. Don’t you just love people who think you can answer all their questions. We always get phone calls @ the post office with questions like-“How much would a package that weighs 20lbs cost to send to Canada. We are always telling them that they have to bring the package in. Crazy people. Glad you enjoy your job.

  2. jenmarie permalink*
    March 13, 2008 3:57 am

    I do enjoy my job, too much! 🙂

  3. Traci permalink
    March 18, 2008 12:21 pm

    We had a young lady come in to ask about play tickets yesterday. I referred her to the Welcome Center since I couldn’t answer her question.
    I really enjoy your patron stories!

Leave a Reply

