Skip to content

Misc…

March 6, 2008

Today was another one of “those” days at the library…The last hour on the desk just would not end! And we had one annoying person after the next to add to the fun! These people are too weird to put into words, I really can’t describe them. (You thought people watching at the mall was fun, you haven’t seen anything till you stop by your local library!) I really wish I could describe them, but there would be no way I could do them justice! I will just say that I was only too glad to get out of there at 6 and be able to head over to APU! I really love the library, don’t get me wrong, it’s really a lot of fun and I work with some cool people, but sometimes patrons can just “get to you.” Yesterday we had a lady approach us on the desk, livid that some kids were being too loud in one of the study rooms. She said that she went in there herself and told them to be quiet (mistake number one!) and that they gave her an attitude and asked “who are you?” (valid point) So she came up to us and went on and on about them! They quickly gathered all their stuff and left before we could do anything, but she wrote pages in our comment book. She even told us, “I better give you my office number too.” When my coworker told her that we didn’t contact people who wrote in the book, we just filled in the space beside their comment to reply to them, she looked horrified and said “then those kids could find my number!” We said “um, yes.” She quickly began scribbling out her name and all her contact info (over and over). We just laughed about it later. If she would have just come and told us in the first place we could have talked to them…but whatever.There is one man who has come in the library for years. I remember him from when I was a page and he used to freak me out! He is really weird, but now that I am used to him, it’s okay. But I remember him following me around the library as I tried to close and he would read me poems that he had written! At the time I used to avoid him, but now he doesn’t really bother me, there are creepier people!  And then there was Paul… Paul who came up to me on the desk one day and said he had seen me before! At church, he said! I seriously doubted it, but when we compared notes, I couldn’t conclusively affirm or deny it. But from that day on, he would always come and visit me on the desk! It was really annoying! At first I would always talk to him, but after a while I couldn’t get rid of him! Several times my coworkers would leave the desk and go to an office phone and call the front desk to say I was “needed” upstairs. (Thank heaven for observant coworkers!) And there have been times I have done the same for them! One particular night when he just wouldn’t move on (no I am not interested in you, that’s why I am trying to ignore you, isn’t it obvious?) I stopped my boss as he walked by and said “Paul, this is my boss” (thinking that he would leave me alone then). He then proceeded to introduce himself and draw my boss into our “conversation.” Oh well, I tried. Today as I was walking to the staff lounge I noticed that our two pigeons are building a nest again. We have a family of pigeons that live on the ledge outside the second story of our building. Every year they build a nest and raise a baby or two and make a considerable mess on the pavement below! The fake owl mounted on the roof does not fool them. One year the only baby they had fell to a dismal death on the sidewalk below and left mother and father to mourn alone on their little ledge. I’m sure they didn’t know that all the staff was mourning with them. (except me, pigeons creep me out so I always try to scare them away. Except when I was in London, there was something about Hyde Park that necessitated the presence of pigeons…maybe I’ve seen Mary Poppins too much) Birds seem to like our library…Just yesterday as I was talking with a coworker upstairs, a big crow came flying into one of the big glass windows! This actually happens a lot. One time a sparrow kept flying into it until he finally collapsed and died, leaving his friend to come sit by him and periodically try to drag him away! It was so sad, we had to clean it up just so the other bird could move on!Well, enough library stories for today! I am so excited, I am going shopping in the morning! I haven’t been shopping (real shopping) in SO long! I have been really good! But since it’s my birthday I am just going to be really bad! J It’s going to be so much fun, I can’t wait!

PS, cat kissing pics under the PICTURES page. And I think Renae has more pics as well as pics from the Crusade on her blog!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becka permalink
    March 6, 2008 11:34 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JEN! Loved your library post! 🙂 Did you have fun shopping? I haven’t been real shopping in a while either, but summer is getting closer and I get new clothes then!!!! 🙂 Yay! 🙂 lol

  2. March 7, 2008 1:01 am

    We went to the library today, but I don’t think our library is as exciting as yours. 🙂

    Have a happy birthday and fun shopping! My boys went to Josh’s 10th birthday party on Tuesday and had lots of fun. March is quite the birthday month!

  3. March 7, 2008 3:34 pm

    Happy Birthday Jen

  4. jenmarie permalink*
    March 13, 2008 4:00 am

    Beck, yes, I had fun shopping! Got a really cute jean skirt and New York and Co. (like I really need a new jean skirt!) And a few cute tops and shoes and sunglasses at Mervyn’s of all places! And a cute beachy Roxy bag at Anchor Blue! 🙂 Fun, fun, fun!!
    MR- well, you can come visit my library whenever you come out to CA! 🙂
    James, thanks, you too. 😉

Leave a Reply

