Skip to content

Cookies, Pinkberry and another photo shoot

November 6, 2013

About a month ago, a friend in Moscow invited me to go to a young adults’ Bible study that he goes to in the city, and I went. And I am so thankful that I did. I have gone back each week since (Tuesday nights) and it’s such a blessing and fun time to hang out with other expats and share ideas/advice/stories and worship God together (and eat a yummy meal!) Last week was the last night that it was held in the city center since that couple that hosted it is moving to Switzerland  and so the group’s location is moving a bit south in the city (close to my place!) to the new French couple’s place. To celebrate the last night there, they had a cake with candles (to celebrate the 96 times they had hosted the group) and we also had a “service auction” with fake rubles. The night was so much fun and full of lots of laughs! The idea behind the service auction was to get people to hang out during the week, instead of just at the Bible study. So to that end, the leader gave us each 200 fake rubles, and had us each write down on two pieces of paper, 2 things that we were offering to do for someone else (ie bake a batch of cookies, take them to a museum, free childcare, etc.) and then he would read off the things one at a time and we would bid on the things we wanted to win. Some of the entries made us all laugh and wonder which person had written them. Two papers (written by different people) just said “swimming.” One offer was “I wil write a magic little song about you.” Due to the many different nationalities and native tongues represented,  we got a lot of good laughs out of the various offers.

One offer was a batch of brownies and so I saved my entire 200 rubles to bid on them. If you started the bid at 200, you automatically won the item since no one had more than 200 rubles. However, another girl had the same idea and she beat me to them. So I bid on the next food item that came up (a batch of chocolate chip cookies).  (And I am sitting here eating them right now since I  got them last night at the BIble study, yum)

The two items I offered were mini photo shoots, since I had no idea what else to write.  Olga won one of them, so on Monday, thanks to the holiday, we were both free and able to meet up. She wanted to go to Afimall where the huge matroyshka dolls are located.  I had been to that mall before, and didn’t remember it being too photo-shoot friendly. However, due to the rain, we had to be inside, and that’s where she wanted to go, so that’s where we went. Plus there’s a Pinkberry there, so… ;)

There were a lot of people up there with the dolls. And a lot of people were doing photo shoots as well! (Russians, I have learned, love to do photo shoots. Or at least so it seems. I see them everywhere.)

After wandering up to the 6th floor to the dolls, then realizing we should have checked our coats downstairs, cramming back into the elevator to go all the way back to the entrance, then back up for our pics, and doing the pics, we ended the day down at Pinkberry where the line was constantly out the door (that’s a good sign!). Olga hadn’t tried Pinkberry before, or any frozen yogurt at all, but she wanted to, so it was a nice end to the day. Eating Pinkberry makes me feel like I am home. I just try not to look at the prices. Or think about the fact that mochi is no longer there (perhaps no one ate it?). It’s not quite the same without mochi on the menu but oh well, I’ll take what I can get.
And? 6.5 weeks till I am home yay!

Ok, enough rambling. Here are the pics:

IMG_5584

_MG_5594

_MG_5601

_MG_5690

_MG_5603

_MG_5608

_MG_5614

_MG_5620

_MG_5632

_MG_5652

_MG_5654

_MG_5678


IMG_5579

IMG_5583
IMG_5586

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2013 1:12 pm

    I love the idea of that auction! What a fun thing to do. Too bad you couldn’t share one of those cookies with me. ;) The pictures turned out lovely. And I really like the mochi part of pinkberry too! lol

  2. November 29, 2013 8:51 pm

    VERY NICE gallery of photos! You are very stylish…and how was the Bible study?

  3. November 30, 2013 2:30 am

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun. I would have bid on those cookies too! Nice pictures, you are pretty! I don’t know what Pinkberry is, never been there myself. Sounds like a great place to enjoy a yogurt?

  4. November 30, 2013 2:40 am

    I’m glad you guys think “I’m” pretty haha but that is NOT me, I am the photographer! =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 213 other followers

